The darling buds of May

They’ve definitely been shaken by some rough winds so far, it’s been freezing! Nice this afternoon, but there’s talk of, guess what, “high winds” again by next weekend. Hurrah.

It’s also been so flat-out, I can’t even think about posting on here during the week. Last week was better because as well as the genius that is a bank holiday Monday, I had Thursday off, because it was my birthday 🙂

The morning didn’t go according to plan; I wanted to go for a lesson on THWNN but the $*%$ing lorry wouldn’t start. I rode anyway, then went for lunch and shopping with my best friend and goddaughter, followed by yoga and a lovely roast chicken dinner courtesy of my friend’s husband in the evening, all good.

I got some lovely presents including some horsey things and this lot:

The lovely travel mug from my goddaughter, plus some chocolate raisins and Denby rice bowls from my mum. I had four of the bowls originally and used them for everything (other than rice), whisking eggs, holding ingredients, even baking things like my breakfast apple crumble – but I managed to break all four of them; Hopefully these four will last at least slightly longer 🙂

And yes, from my colleagues – an actual dinosaur cake tin, isn’t it brilliant?! I’ve told Mike at work, whose birthday’s next, that whatever cake he gets, it’ll be dinosaur shaped…

Talking of cakes, my mum made me one:

Delicious, made using ground hazelnuts and with a raspberry jam ricotta topping and filling. Those raspberries on the top didn’t last long either as I shovelled them in pretty quick – they were amazing!

I’ve been back to my summer breakfasts, on that note, as the fresh fruit’s now cheaper and British:

With full-fat yoghurt, which keeps me fuller than anything else; definitely the way forward for the mornings!

Have a great week 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The darling buds of May

  1. That dinosaur pan is so cool! I look forward to seeing the cake you make with it! 🙂

  2. Mm the cake looks yum! If anyone made me a dinosaur cake they would totally rock me world!!

  3. Omg the dinasaur baking dish is AMAZING. Cannot wait to see what you make with it!
    Hope you had a great birthday 🙂 I love Denby stuff. Such good quality. But yes easily breakable. My mum suffered many a Denby loss when I lived at home…I’m so clumsy. She would hide the Denby from me.

  4. Jess says:

    I would feel so nervous baking you a cake…I know I could never surpass your culinary skills! It’s a bit like taking coals to Newcastle 😉

    I’m glad your birthday turned out well in the end 🙂

    xxx

  5. Weighting For 50 says:

    That cake pan made me smile. Hope all is well in your world El.

  6. Happy Birthday, Eleanor! Sounds like you had some lovely celebrations. Your cake looks so good!! Enjoy!!

  7. catherine says:

    Happy birthday! That dinosaur tin is genius 🙂 🙂

Thank you for commenting!