Friday

I know, it’s a rubbish title. But it is, indubitably, Friday. (Saturday tomorrow, fact fans).

Like any other week, it’s been a mixture of work-type shenanigans and horse-related malarkies. And like every other week this March, it’s been like this:

Literally not going to rise above freezing on Sunday – and see that lovely sleet tomorrow? And the fact it’s not going to warm up all next week? Coldest March for 60 years, apparently. How delightful.

Some slightly different things from this week include this:

Having had nothing but carrot porridge or carrot pancakes for breakfast since before the wheel was invented, I suddenly fancied something different, invested in a loaf of Sainsbury’s own brand GF seeded bread and had it toasted with my mum’s home-made raspberry jam, cream cheese and blueberries.

Delicious, like a cheesecake (in a toasty kind of way 🙂 ) and although I thought I’d be hungry, it was just as filling as porridge, plus easier to make and with less washing-up; winner all round.

Also unusual was the fact I got slightly concussed on Wendesday night – that’ll teach me for pulling hay down from the ground instead of climbing to the top of the stack… believe me when I say you don’t want a bale of that falling on your head!

I got baking too this week; first cake for a long time:

It was another caramel apple ring cake, for a colleague’s birthday, and though I says it as shouldn’t, it is delicious. The combination of apple, spice and buttery caramel is out of this world – there was none left by this afternoon.

Hopefully you can’t see the crack; I was impatient and took it out of the tin too soon so some of it decided to stay put – but that caramel’s perfect for sticking broken cakes together, it turns out…!

Have a good (and hopefully snow-free) weekend 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Friday

  1. runningcupcake says:

    Apple cake with caramel sounds amazing- very autumnal but perfect for this weather. Fingers crossed for no snow!

  2. OMG, all those zero temperatures! At least you can warm up with some tasty cake!

  3. Wow that cake looks amazing! I know I can always come here and have a good moan about the weather, seriously what on earth is going on! I’m so fed up of it now 😦 Hope you are having a good one despite it!

  4. Yeah the weather is so depressing. We’ve luckily not had any snow but it’s really cold and miserable. March is usually my favourite month but definitely not this year!
    Sorry to hear about yr concussion. Sounds painful, hope you’re feeling better!
    And that cake looks so good! Love the flavour combo. And it looks perfect, I can’t see any cracks 🙂

  5. The weather is really getting on my nerves now. Hopefully it means that we will have a great summer,…one can only hope!

  6. This weather is getting on my nerves now. I hope it means that ewe will have an amazing summer…one can only hope!

  7. Yummm I hope that cake can keep you warm! 🙂

  8. Brittany says:

    Oh man that cake looks good!

  9. Your cake looks delicious, Eleanor! Our weather is strange as well. Started out sunny on Easter morning but deteriorated into cold and rainy.

Thank you for commenting!

