Caught out

I was caught out in a big way on Monday.

I woke up to a light dusting of snow, but even that had just about gone by the time I left for work. It did keep snowing all day but my boss, who lives near me, and I were lulled into a false sense of security, partly becasue his wife said the roads were fine near us and partly, I think, because there was an element of “It’s March, so how bad can the snow be?”

I got an inkling when, on the way back to my car at nearly 6pm, I slipped on compacted frozen snow and fell flat on my backside. And then realised the real extent when it took me three hours to get home 😦

Two of those were spent just getting out of town; crawling traffic, cars spinning and getting stuck, coaches slipping all over the shop – it wasn’t fun. The motorway was even worse as not as many people had used it and you couldn’t even see the tarmac. Still, even at 14 years old and with 179,000 miles on the clock, the trusty Golf did me proud; and I was a lot better off than people trying to go towards the coast as many ended up stuck all night… terrible.

Anyway. Even though it’s now cold, pouring and howling a gale, surely we’re safe from snow’s evil clutches now…!

On another note, I was sent this to try the other day:

I’m sure you’ve seen other products of this type. Slim Pasta is made from “a water-soluble vegetable fibre called Moyu (konjac).” It’s marketed at coeliacs, diabetics and people wanting to lose weight as an alternative to normal pasta and rice.

I had the pasta first, with a mixture of sauted mushrooms and garlic, red pepper pesto, spinach and cheese and it was delicious.

The pasta itself doesn’t actually taste of anything, so whatever you add to it is the flavour you get.

I had the “rice” next, with the same other ingredients:

And, of course, that was nice too. I preferred the “rice” because of its texture; the only thing I’d say about the pasta is, I wasn’t too keen on its slipperiness; I couldn’t really chew it! I’m sure they would make good alternatives to pasta for people trying to lose weight, although courgette noodles and cauliflower “rice” would also work.

The Slim Pasta does apparently keep you “fuller for longer” owing to the vegetable fibre… although I was slightly confused by the mention of “wheat-free rice” on one of the packets… 😉

Have you tried anything like this? If so, what do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Caught out

  1. Jess says:

    I’ve tried Shirataki noodles before, but they were just…weird. I didn’t mind the slimy texture, but the smell of them before they were rinsed was just too much. I felt rather ill just looking at them!

    That said, I wouldn’t mind trying the Slim Pasta because I fit all three of the categories it’s marketed at 😛 And although I like carrot noodles they’re a little too sweet to really replicate ‘pasta.’ Not that I’m much of a pasta fan…hmm, perhaps I just love the novelty of eating something for zero calories!

    This snow is just ridiculous, no? We’re meant to get more showers next week…at this rate it will be snowing at Easter :/

    xxx

  2. runningcupcake says:

    We need the spring to come! It is awful when the roads are covered, especially if they were not gritted.
    I have not tried pasta like that, although to me it looks a little bit slimy in texture- I can see the benefits I suppose (esp as it is gluten free) but think I will stick to a small portion of normal pasta.

  3. I have some of that stuff to try as well (I hope you haven’t been getting constant emails from the PR woman like I have!) I was going to try them the other night but I just didn’t fancy them in the end. I might try them tomorrow but I’m not sure I’ll enjoy them their texture!

  4. The pasta things sound very strange! I guess they’re a bit like those seaweed noodles. But I guess they’d be a nice base for a meal with a good sauce 🙂
    Sounds terrible about the snow. I can’t believe it’s snowing in March. It should be spring soon! so annoying.

  5. thehungrymum says:

    As envious as I am of snow the downside that you’ve just described sounds awful. Absolutely unfun.

  6. I’ve tried a similar product–wasn’t a fan!

  7. The pasta sounds interesting. We had a random flurry of thick snow on Sunday…so weird!

  8. There’s a type of “pasta” here like that. Can’t remember the name. I haven’t tried it yet.

  9. Weighting For 50 says:

    I tried a similar product. I used it as noodles in soup, and it was good. Great? No. Good…yeah, and it was a huge calorie savings. Hope you are doing well, and may spring come to you soon!!!

  10. The closest thing I’ve had to this was spagetti squash but this looks really good! What did the rice taste like?

Thank you for commenting!

