A gleam of light

Daylight (kind of) at 5.10pm today – we’re getting there 🙂

I don’t know where the last fortnight’s gone, or how I managed to post just about every day this time two years ago! I’m working longer hours now and riding more – but I swear days are actually getting shorter… that must be it.

Luckily our snow was a one-day wonder, although it hung around for a week like the last diners in a restaurant while the waiters are clearing up around them, and although the gale-force winds that have replaced it are overrated in terms of comfort, anything’s better than that… less than four weeks till March 🙂

Highlights since my last post include a fancy dress karaoke party last week – the theme was old people and if you haven’t seen a group of “old ladies”, complete with rollers, twinsets, popsocks and grey wigs, boogieing on down to some serious choons, you’re missing out. It may not have been such a good idea for me to attempt to sing Just Like Jesse James with the back end of a cold but what can I say? I blame the vodka jellies…

Food highlights have included such deliciousness as a cheesy vegetable bake:

And the milder weather has meant I’ve been able to ride again and cycle, which makes me feel so much better, I hate not being able to exercise! I’ve been back to zumba the last two weeks too, which is brilliant.

And talking of exercise, as I didn’t manage to post at all last week, MoneySupermarket has allowed me to extend the deadline of my Get Fit Feel Epic competition for a week, ie until this Friday, February 8.

To be in with a chance of winning a  Fitbit activity tracker and a set of “smart scales, just write a blog post about how you have – or how you plan to – get fit and feel epic; how being active makes you feel and how you benefit from it. Link to the challenge and to my original competition post in your entry – which doesn’t have to be long, just your thoughts – and email me at ellejones338@hotmail.com with “Get fit Feel Epic” in the subject line. The best post will win the prize – good luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A gleam of light

  1. Jess says:

    Quality not quantity with blogging, for sure 🙂

    Love the restaurant analogy relating to the snow – absolutely perfect. It’s so wonderful that it’s gone, though we’re meant to get a bit on Tuesday 😦 I miss running outside in it so much – I’m just grateful to live so close to the gym that I can get there even if the roads are dodgy!

    xxx

  2. Your veggie bake looks amazing!

  3. That vegetable bake looks amazing!

  4. Natalie says:

    Great veggie book and I really like that fitbit, awesome product.

  5. Natalie says:

    oops Veggie bake!

  6. The karaoke night sounds hysterical. Reminds me of the TV show Dharma & Greg. Have you ever seen it. It’s from the late ’90’s and they’re rerunning it on one of our cable channels at the moment. The two girls used to dress up as say…’50’s housewives and go to the supermarket. Hysterical! Your veggie bake sounds wonderful too!

  7. Your fancy dress party sounds amazing! I love at idea of dressing up like an oldie hehe.
    And that bake. Oh wow it looks incredible! Like I seriously need to make it soon. I sometimes have a cheesie veggie side but a whole meal sounds amazing. Duly noted!
    Can’t wait till its lighter in the mornings. I’m not too fussed about the evenings, it’s just dark mornings I hate.

  8. Catherine says:

    hi! l mailed you about the comp, just checking you got my mail!
    xxx

Thank you for commenting!

