That Which Shall Not Be Named

I’m not going to mention the forecast… or the fact a few sneaky, nasty little flakes of snow were falling today… Snow Denial is the way forward 🙂

It’s been a bit of a flat-out weekend – and week, to be honest. The new job means late Mondays and Tuesdays, then I rode THWNN Wednesday, Thursday and Friday after work so it was all getting home late, which in turn meant quick dinners like this again:

Goats’ cheese – always a winner.

Yesterday, I went to a dressage show (and came fourth 🙂 ) then went to the pantomime in the afternoon, with my best friend and her daughter. It was Snow White, complete with as many Oh Yes He Is – Oh No He Isn’ts as you could hope for, which was brilliant.

Then today, I went to a jumping show. No rosette this time but THWWN was a real star. He’s definitely earned a day off which is lucky, considering the forecast of That Which Will Not Be Mentioned!

As my last post was all about fitness, this one’s all about sugar and indulgent treats. They do say the key to health is balance, after all 🙂

I’ve been whipping up  a few of said indulgences recently, including more of this:

The honeycomb ice cream went down a treat on Christmas Day, so much so, I made it for another roast my mum did afterwards, mainly for my aunt and uncle who couldn’t come on Christmas Day – and that didn’t hang around long either.

I’ve made more ultimate flapjackery – my goddaughter asked so nicely for some more – and some of these:

My boss doesn’t like a fuss being made of his birthday and some strange logic made me think brownies were less of a fuss than a cake. I used a Delia recipe for four nut ones, using cashews and almonds in place of the macadamias and it turned out really well. My only slight criticism might be that they were on the sweet side, even for me. But I had run out of caster sugar so used mainly brown, which might have made a difference… having said that, they didn’t last long so they can’t have been that bad 🙂

But on that note, although I can’t have been the only one eating too much sugar over Christmas, I’ve definitely got into a bad habit of eating too much of it, too often. I’m making a conscious effort to eat less at the moment, because it really ain’t good.

And that (shoehorned neatly in) fits neatly with a reminder of my Get Fit Feel Epic competition – you could win a Fitbit activity tracker and a set of smart scales! Check my last post…

Have you had any snow – and how sweet is your sweet tooth?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to That Which Shall Not Be Named

  1. Jess says:

    Ugh, the s-word has made a brief appearance here tonight. Most of it’s coming tomorrow though, I fear 😦

    My sweet tooth is ridiculous – thank God for things like Truvia (which I get through SO quickly) or I’d have no teeth left at all.

    xxx

  2. runningcupcake says:

    Yup some snow this morning when I looked outside- more is due for later which I am not looking forward to as I don’t want to get stuck at work!

  3. Congratulations for the fourth in dressage 🙂

  4. Congrats on your fourth place! Those goodies at the end…I did not need to see them… 😉

  5. Yay for fourth place, such an achievement! I am drooling over the honeycomb ice cream!

  6. It is snowing as I type! Those brownies look amazing, as does that ice cream!

  7. Kailey says:

    I have a HUGE sweet tooth, but I have no shame about it 🙂
    The brownies look DIVINE!

  8. I know I’m in the minority, but I would welcome the snow. I’m just too used to four separate seasons!

  9. Weighting For 50 says:

    Congrats on the 4th place. Way to go. Saw on the news that your neck of the woods is getting the “s-word”. Take care. Warm hugs from Canada.

Thank you for commenting!

