Happy new year!

I don’t know about you but Christmas seems ages ago now!

I’ve been back at work since the 27th and it’s all been busy, with early deadlines, and I started my new job as news editor this week too… it’s a bit different, as three new reporters started at the same time so I’ve got a real team to manage now; which I suppose makes me their boss. Now there’s a thought πŸ™‚

Christmas was lovely though; at my mum and dad’s as usual, for my Mum’s world-beating dinner and a really nice day all round.

CueΒ my traditionalΒ horses-on-Christmas-Day picture:

THWNN and his mate George are a right pair; when they’re not play-fighting or galloping round in the mud, they’re eating the old muckheap… clearly straw that’s been weed on and left to rot for a few years is a delicacy πŸ™‚

I got some lovely presents, including horsey stuff, a gluten-free baking book, some amazingly cosy sheepskin-lined slippers and things like this:

Anything with the word “thermal” in the title is a winner in my book, although it’s been so mild – and it was confirmed last week that 2012 was the wettest year on record.

It finished in suitable style, with lashing rain and howling gales, and I spent New Year’s Eve at a party in the village hall, which was lovely.

So another year gone, in what seems like no time. Highlights included the day at the Olympics, getting THWNN (and getting shot of baggage Inka!), my new job and the Kent Media Award last Janaury.

As far as 2013 goes… who knows! I’m looking forward to it. And one of the first things I’ll be doing on here is an exciting competition – details up at the weekend hopefully!

What were your highlights of 2012/what are your plans for 2013?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Happy new year!

  1. Happy New Year to you too! I’ve always wondered what it is with horses and their muck fascination – they do all seem to spend a good part of their day either producing it, sniffing it, inspecting it, walking in it or eating it…

  2. Starstone says:

    *sigh* you went to the olympics… not jealous at all… πŸ˜‰ Although I find it very hard not to coment on Anky and her roll kur and how much the entire Duch team should have been disqualified… and quite a few others as well…

    But I’ll be good, and not even mention it πŸ˜‰ Congrats on the new job and the award, and happy new year πŸ™‚

  3. Agreed! My family just left on Sunday, and it feels like a month ago!

  4. Happy new year to you! That pic of your horses made me do a double take as it looks like one extra long horse with too many legs!
    I agree anything with the word thermal in it is good in my book!

  5. Happy New Year, Eleanor!! Love the horsey picture, but I really love the photo of the pond. So peaceful. Congratulations and Good Luck on your new job!

  6. Happy New Year! Sounds like you’ve had a lovely Christmas and New Year. Still love that your horse is THWNN! Hope 2013 is a great year for you!

  7. Georgia W says:

    Your Christmas and New Year sounds lovely, especially as it involved thermal goodness (and all of the other exciting things too). My NY resolution is ‘just’ to be healthy, in body and mind, to read more, travel more and not take life too seriously!
    Happy 2013 πŸ™‚
    Georgia
    http://www.didieatthat25.blogspot.co.uk/

  8. AnnaTheApple says:

    Happy new year! I always love the photos of your horse! He’s so lovely πŸ™‚
    Oooh and congrats on your job! Don’t let the power go to your head haha πŸ˜‰

  9. Happy New Year. It sounds like you had an amazing Christmas!

  10. Kailey says:

    Happy 2013 πŸ™‚
    I like your outlook of just seeing what the year has to offer you!

  11. Weighting For 50 says:

    Big, big Happy New Year!!!!!!!!! I’m looking forward to your posts in the coming weeks/months.

Thank you for commenting!

