Biscuits and broccoli

Eek, only a week and a half until Christmas – how did that happen?!

On that note, today was our work Christmas lunch – but I didn’t get to go (violins please)

It’s because I’d been booked to join a conference call with people from other offices. The date had been booked while I was away and it was for 2pm. So while everyone else went to eat and drink on the company, I was in the office on my own 😦

We’d decided to do our work Secret Santa at the meal so I was told to leave the room while mine was put on my desk. And when I opened it, I laughed so much, it kind of made up for missing the do.

To explain it, I have to tell you that I go over to Asda every lunchtime to get bits and pieces of shopping. The boys used to laugh at how often I bought broccoli and they were all fascinated when I said I eat it every day. It’s become a standing joke now, but when I saw a big box full of wrapped presents with a note saying “sense of humour needed”, I wasn’t sure what to expect – and this was it:

About nine individually wrapped heads of broccoli. It was hilarious, especially as my colleague Mike had bought each one from a different shop, with a note to say what sort it was. Bless him, it was such a funny present, made even better by these, also in the box:

He knows me too well, the only problem is, I don’t think I’m going to get all that broccoli in the fridge 🙂

Also on a festive theme is this:

The last 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats post of the year.

As all mine so far have been about caramel, pecans and other not traditionally Christmassy things, I thought I’d repeat a recipe that not only is, but that brings back memories of my childhood, when my mum would spend ages making them for special occasions.

Iced star gingerbread biscuits:

Preheat oven to 170C

60g butter

160g flour (I used Doves Farm plain white GF but am sure plain normal flour would be fine)

50g brown sugar

2tbsp golden syrup

1 1/2 tsp ground ginger

1/4 tsp ground mixed spice

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Sieve the flour, bicarb and spices together into a bowl and set aside. Melt butter, sugar and syrup together over a low heat. When melted, pour into the bowl and mix until it comes together as a dough.

Roll out on a floured surface to about 1/4″ thickness and get cutting out! Bake, in batches, on lined sheets in the middle of the oven for 10 minutes, until browned. Sink cocktail sticks into the shapes, squashing the dough round the edges of the sticks a bit to hold them in.

When cooled, dip Smarties into icing made from icing sugar and enough water to make a paste and stick them on.

Stars and ginger biscuits – a perfect Christmas combination.

Check out the other 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats posts, hosted by Brenda… and if anyone’s running short of broccoli, let me know 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Biscuits and broccoli

  1. Jess says:

    Those star cookies are gorgeous!

    Your Secret Santa made me giggle – it’s lovely that a lot of thought clearly went into it. I wish someone would do that for me with Kabocha squash 😉

    xxx

  2. Nicole says:

    I would actually love to receive that much broccoli!
    A local vendor gave me a huge tray of sweets – chocolates, caramels, etc. I immediately took it around the building to share. Now if they would’ve given me the broccoli or apples, I would’ve kept it all!!

  3. Haha that’s a great pressie but what I shame you were all on your own! We played a joke on our boss at work for her gift. It would take too long to explain it all but it involved buying back something she’s taken to the charity shop and wrapping that up for her gift. Her face when she opened it and tried to look pleased with it was priceless!

  4. Your star cookies are adorable. I love broccoli too but I might have to freeze some if I got so much of it at once.
    Annamaria

  5. Weighting For 50 says:

    Great looking star cookies. Elle. I haven’t forgotten about the award, and I really appreciate it…I promise I’ll answer the questions and link back over the next couple of days. Have a great weekend!!

  6. Haha! That is quite a funny gift! Broccoli is one of my favourite veggies! 🙂

  7. Hahaha that’s so funny about the broccoli present!!!

  8. AnnaTheApple says:

    That’s so sweet about the broccoli! That’s so nice they know you. Somtimes I get embarrassed at work with what I like to eat (lots of salads…) but I think it’s awesome that your colleagues got you broccoli 🙂

  9. The brocolli is hysterical. I could make a week of really big stir fries with that…invite all the neighbors! 😉 The ginger biscuits look delicious…I need to give them a try!

Thank you for commenting!

