Brrrrrrrr, part 2

It’s been a bit of a flat-out week, even though I haven’t been at work…

I know I was only off a couple of weeks ago but as I did last year, I saved lots of holiday, thinking I’d need it, then had to use it or lose it by the end of the year. It makes sense anyway from a horsey point of view to have time off now; in summer, it’s always light enough to ride after work whereas had I not been off this week, I would hardly have ridden at all. Freezing and windy in daylight is one thing, freezing and windy and black as the Ace of Spades is completely another 🙂

As it was, I’ve done loads with THWNN (who I might call Sam, what do you think?); a lesson on Tuesday, another one yesterday, as my friend had to back out of a clinic spot she’d booked, and a show today. He went really well, and I feel I’ve made loads of progress with him, just this week.

Not so good was the view I woke up to on Wednesday morning:

I practised my well-versed art of Snow Denial, ie closing the curtains and pretending it’s not there, which worked a treat – it was gone by the afternoon 🙂

It’s been so cold since though, today at the show was absolutely Baltic, even with so many layers on, I could hardly move.

Hence my latest contribution to 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats:

Which is…..

Yep, ice cream. Of course.

As the flapjacks I’ve made a lot recently have only used 1/4 tin condensed milk per batch, I’ve been putting the rest of each tin in the freezer and although it keeps perfectly, it doesn’t actually freeze solid, it just gets a bit thicker. That made me think it could make a nice creamy ice cream. Then, I was talking to my mum about Christmas Day, when I’m going to make a sticky toffee pudding for those (me included) who aren’t too keen on Christmas pudding. I thought making some ice cream would be good to go with it and as the best I’ve ever had is the honeycomb Simply Ice Cream, I thought I’d have a go at my own.

I looked up honeycomb ice cream – and found all the recipes use condensed milk… don’t ya just love it when a plan comes together like that 😉

Honeycomb ice cream:

1/3 quantities of this honeycomb, from the Pink Whisk

2x (284ml) pots double cream

1 (397g) can condensed milk

1tbsp vodka (alcohol keeps ice cream creamy, but you can’t taste it)

Make the honeycomb according to the recipe linked above. Once it’s cooled, use a rolling pin to break it up into tiny chunks. There will be loads of golden dust but fear not, it’s all good.

Whisk the cream to soft peaks, then fold in the condensed milk and vodka and whisk to stiff peaks. Fold in the crushed honeycomb, pour into a plastic box and freeze for a couple of hours.

Most of the similar recipes for this don’t use an ice cream maker but because I’ve got one, I wanted to use it! I churned about 3/4 of the above recipe, as that was all that fitted, and froze the rest straight away. And I have to admit, the non-churned one was as good as the churned, if not better.

The honeycomb almost melts into the ice cream, giving swirls of caramel deliciousness, almost as if there’s sauce rippled through, and a great flavour and texture, with lovely crunchy bits too. The only problem is, I can’t see this batch lasting till Christmas…. 🙂

Check out the rest of the “>12 Weeks of Christmas Treats posts, hosted by Brenda and linked below… and have a great weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Brrrrrrrr, part 2

  1. Sitting here drooling. Good idea for Christmas…

  2. Jess says:

    For some reason it is theraputic for me reading your blog when it snows! I think it’s the feeling that someone else out there really ‘gets it’ when it comes to absolute hatred of the ‘magical’ winter precipitation.

    Sam sounds like a lovely name for your horse!

    xxx

  3. Yay for snow! I don’t really like to drive in it but am anxious for a white Christmas.

  4. Hannah says:

    Oh how I love honeycomb! I would definitely gobble this up… with a peanut butter drizzle 😉

  5. AnnaTheApple says:

    Honeycomb ice cream is one of the best flavours! Sounds divine!
    Luckily we’ve avoided snow but it has been very cold! It just makes you want to stay in bed and not go out! And running is just not fun without gloves now as I keep forgetting them :-s
    Sam sounds like a great name 🙂

    • It’s my favourite – but that condensed milk has made another appearance!
      And yes, doing anything outside is not good at the moment, which is a bugger really when you want to ride or run… gloves are a must!

  6. Ice cream sounds great! Even in the winter.

  7. Ice cream could never be bad. I never knew that the alcohol kept ice cream creamy. Love the recipe.

  8. runningcupcake says:

    That looks fab! The Ben and Jerry’s ice cream book I has, has 3 bases, and the one I use is condensed milk because I don’t like the idea of making custard with eggs for it (raw eggs scare me!)- always makes very sweet but creamy ice cream 🙂

  9. Yummm that looks so creamy and delicious!!

  10. We had snow too last week. It looked so pretty but it was so cold!

  11. Brr indeed! No matter how cold it is I’m always ready for ice cream though 🙂 I’m impressed that you made your own, it looks delicious.

  12. One of my favourite flavours of ice cream (its hard to pick one right?!), I’ve never tried making my own!

  13. olivia reddy says:

    wow almost as good as my dog sitters, brothers, neices cooking! its like holy cafeteria food!

  14. The icecream looks incredible! The “well-versed art of Snow Denial.” I love it and practice it myself!!

  15. Pingback: That Which Shall Not Be Named | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

