And again

In my last 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats post, I said it seemed all to be about pecans and caramel.

Well, I thought, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. I came up with the idea of an amazingly delicious concoction that included both the above – and chocolate. It was going to be stupendous.

I concocted said concoction at the weekend and although it was undoubtedly delicious, it also undeniably fell apart. Tits.

As I haven’t yet had enough time, inclination or pecans to try again, I made something else which also features all that deliciousness, in one non-falling-apart package:

Chocolate-pecan caramel popcorn.

2 heaped tbsp popcorn kernels

75g (3/4 cup) pecans

75g (1/4cup + 2tbsp) brown sugar

40g (3tbsp) butter

100g (1/4 can) condensed milk

1tbsp golden syrup

50g (1/4 cup) – or more – chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 160C and line a baking sheet. Pop your corn and chop the pecans roughly, then mix the two together.

Put the butter, sugar, condensed milk and syrup in a pan over a low heat, stirring till the butter’s melted and the sugar dissolved. Bring to the boil, then simmer, stirring all the time,  for a minute or two till it thickens and goes a beautiful caramel colour. Pour over the popcorn and pecans, stir till it’s all evenly coated, then spread out on to the sheet.

Cook, stirring occasionally to break it up, for 8-10 minutes, till golden brown. Keep an eye on it because it’ll go from pallid to overdone in what seems like an instant – not that I’d know 🙂

Melt the chocolate, drizzle it over and leave to set.

Caramel, crunchiness, pecans and chocolate… almost perfection, although I’m still determined to make my first idea work – back to the drawing board on that one.

Have a great weekend – and check out the other 12 Weeks deliciousness, hosted by Brenda, who has also used pecans this week – great minds 🙂

Have a great weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to And again

  1. Hi sweetie! it’s only midday and now i’m thinking about your yummy popcorn! that looks DELICIOUS!!

  2. AnnaTheApple says:

    Oh wow! This looks so amazing. Everything screams yumminess! I adore popcorn. I like mixing sweet and salty together. And maybe toffee popcorn… Hehe. And condensed milk again! Love this addition.

    • It’s all my current favourite things in one, except broccoli… 😉
      And until recently, I couldn’t remember the last time I bought condensed milk, if ever, and now – well, let’s just say it’s a good thing it’s been on offer in Asda, it’s all those flapjacks’ fault!

  3. Your popcorn looks delicious. Great for gift giving if it doesn’t get eaten first.

  4. We’re twins! I just made caramel corn the other day, but not like this! Yours looks incredible. 😉

  5. That popcorn sounds amazing, yum!

  6. Fran@BCDC says:

    I’m usually a plain popcorn fan, but this looks delicious, Eleanor!!

  7. That looks amazeballs, I need to try my hand at making something like that!

  8. Yummy! Andy would love that, he is a sucker for popcorn!

  9. OMG anything involving chocolate and pecans is awesome in my book. YUM!

  10. I remember you doing this last year. I loved it! 🙂 Mhmm, that popcorn looks awesome! I know it wouldn’t last long around my brothers and I. 🙂

  11. It’s basically a great excuse to make loads of cookies and sweets! And thank you, it didn’t last long here either… 😉

  12. This looks so yummy! My sister made Cracker Jacks last week. I am avoiding them until the Holiday. Tryng to behave. Hope there’s some left by then…if not perhaps it’s for the best! 😉

  13. Patty K. says:

    Can you use microwave popcorn, if so , how many bags?

Thank you for commenting!

