Perfect partners

The only time Friday afternoon’s not great is when you’ve had a week off πŸ™‚

It’s been busy but really good. Lots of riding, helping clear my mum and dad’s house which has just been sold – and as they’ve owned it 20-ish years, you can imagine there’s a lot to be done… lots of nostalgic moments coming across my old school stuff but I made myself be ruthless!

There’s also been lots of riding, in perfect autumn weather. The leaves started turning early this year but the colours have really lasted and in the beautiful sunshine we’ve had a lot this week, the countryside has looked stunning.

I also went to zumba on Monday night – and enjoyed it so much, I went back on Wednesday πŸ™‚

And there was also some baking, of course:

It was for my best friend’s husband’s birthday. In my opinion, caramel and apple are a combination made in heavenΒ but when I Googled recipes, I didn’t come up with anything that grabbed me by the throat, so to speak. So I took basic sponge cake quantities and hoped for the best πŸ™‚

Preheat oven to 160C and grease an 8-inch ring tin.

6oz self-raising flour

6oz butter, softened

6oz light brown sugar

3 eggs

1tsp baking powder

1tsp ground mixed spice

1/4tsp ground cinnamon.

2 eating apples, cored and diced

Caramel topping:

50g butter

85g light brown sugar

1tbsp golden syrup

50g condensed milk

Whisk everything for the cake together in a large bowl till smooth, creamy and well mixed. Fold in the apple, scoop mixture into the tin and smooth the top. Bake for 40-45 minutes, till firm and an inserted skewer comes out clean.

Leave in the tin for 5-10 minutes, then turn out on to a plate ready for the topping. Gently heat together the butter, sugar and syrup till the butter’s melted and the sugar dissolved, then add the condensed milk. Turn the heat up and bring to the boil, then stir just for a minute or two till it starts to thicken. Pour into a bowl, leave to cool and thicken further for a few minutes, then pour over the cake.

And although I do say so myself, it was delicious. I’d never have thought it but the spice combined with the caramel and juicy apple was a brilliant flavour combination and the apple bits kept it beautifully moist (sorry).

Definitely a winner, I reckon, and a good alternative to Christmas cake, which is why it’s this week’s contribution to this:

There are so many good ideas on the 12 Weeks posts, hosted by Brenda; so many I need to try… all in the purposes of research of course πŸ™‚

Edit: Reader Joanna asked on my last post whether I’d add conversions to American cup measures but I’d already made this by then! I will try for future recipes…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Perfect partners

  1. JamaGenie says:

    Thank you! Each time I succumb to a round of downsizing – otherwise known as “Why am I keeping THIS?” – the bundt pan I picked up at a yard sale a couple of years ago for a quarter somehow survives the sort and pitch because I heed the little voice that whispers “SOMEDAY you’ll need this”. Well, “someday” just arrived in the form of your recipe for an absolutely mouthwatering caramel apple cake. (-:

    • Haha, glad to have been of service! I know the sort of thing, that I can never quite get rid of – but a ring cake tin is definitely always worth keeping… hope you enjoy if you try it πŸ™‚

  2. Love that caramel glaze!

  3. Cake looks delicious and weather looks even better. Happy weekend.

  4. AnnaTheApple says:

    This looks like heaven! Caramels and apples are perfect together. It’s so hard getting rid of old stuff, but as long as you keep the memories that’s all that matters!

  5. Oh I have a real fancy for caramel apple porridge! Especially now that I have some caramel sauce in the fridge. Sounds like you’ve had a lovely week off πŸ™‚

  6. Catherine says:

    I love bundt cake tins, they make everything look so fancy and cool! Your cake looks awesome.
    I love zumba, I miss it, didn’t go at all last week 😦 Monday I’m THERE!

  7. Fran@BCDC says:

    The Fall photo is beautiful, Eleanor! You experienced this week what I’m experiencing with trying to weed out what here and what we don’t need for our move. I’m having a tough time getting Ralph to cooperate. I keep trying! The cake looks outstanding!!

  8. That cake looks fantastic – so autumnal and warming!

  9. Wow!!! That cake looks fantastic!! Your friends must have loved it! πŸ™‚

  10. Hannah says:

    This looks gorgeous! I rarely do frostings/icings/glazes, but oh this looks lovely!

  11. Wow this cake is a stunner! I love apples in baked goods and that gorgeous, glossy caramel layer is making me drool!

  12. Isn’t Autumn the perfect time for riding? (when it’s not pissing down with rain πŸ˜‰ Also the perfect time for apple cake, which looks divine…

  13. Pingback: Friday | Eating like a horse

  14. Pingback: Eating like a horse

  15. Pingback: Spin, spin sugar | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

