A confession

I lied to you.

I’m sorry *hangs head*

It was when I said these were the ultimate flapjacks – and they’re not.

But these are:

In my defence, I thought the original statement was true at the time M’Lud; it’s just that since, I’ve found the true answer, the true ultimate in flapjackery.

Ahem.

Preheat oven to 160C and line a roasting tin (mine’s 29x20cm) with baking paper.

150g butter

170g light brown sugar

2tbsp golden syrup

100g condensed milk

250g oats

Warm the butter, sugar and syrup in a non-stick pan over a very low heat. Keep stirring till the butter’s liquid enough to coat the bottom of the pan or the sugar will burn.

Once the butter’s melted and the sugar dissolved, add the condensed milk and heat together, stirring to combine, for a minute. Pour the caramelly mixture straight into your gaping jaws over the oats and stir till they’re all coated. Spoon the mixture into the tin and press it down, levelling the top.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until pale gold and just starting to darken round the edges (don’t over-bake as you’ll lose the amazing chewiness). Leave to cool in the tin and after about ten minutes, mark into squares but don’t lift out of the tin till they’re completely cool or they’ll fall apart.

I promise, these are the daddy-o, which is why they’re this week’s (late) contribution to 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats, hosted by lovely Brenda.

They’re chewy, caramelly and fudgey – and, if they last that long, they’re almost better after a few days, as they seem to become even more densely delicious *drool*

I saw a flapjack recipe in a food magazine the other day and the celebrity chef who’d contributed it had put something like: “These are great for an on-the-go breakfast”. I’m sure “for kids” was also in there – and then it said: “You can always undo the healthiness of the oats by drizzling dark chocolate on top”.

Er, excuse me? Yes, oats are good for you and great for breakfast. But in my humble opinion, not backed up by any nutritional training or qualifications, brown sugar, golden syrup and copious amounts of butter – ain’t. Sorry.

They are pretty damn amazingly delicious though 🙂

Have a great week… I’m going to make the most of it as I’m off work…!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to A confession

  1. YUM! Oh my gosh those look so good!!!

  2. runningcupcake says:

    Yum they sound amazing- I bet the condensed milk makes them so caramel-like.
    That oat comment is like the nutella advert- 5 hazelnuts in each jar, and some milk or whatever, they never mention all the vegetable oil and sugar!

    • The condensed milk is what makes all the difference 🙂
      And I know, they make all that fuss about the healthiness of the nuts but the first ingredient’s sugar and the hazelnuts are only 13% – then it claims to be a “good way to start the day”!

  3. Fran@BCDC says:

    They don’t look like what I know as flapjacks (pancakes) but they look incredible!!!

    • I found that out the other day, never knew flapjacks were something different over there! I don’t know what the equivalent of these is – granola bars maybe? But they’re much softer and chewier than I’d think granola bars would be… whatever they’re called though, they’re delicious 🙂

  4. They look lovely, I keep meaning to make some flapjacks as James loves them!

  5. At least you gave us a better recipe!

  6. Joanna says:

    These look sooooo yummy! Only one problem – I’m from the other side of the Pond and luckily have a Brit cookbook with conversion charts, but it’d be extremely helpful if your recipes included non-Brit measurements and oven temps. Just sayin’….

    • Thank you! That’s a really good point, I always have to (try to) calculate in my head when I’m looking at American recipes and have been meaning to start working out the cups as well but never got round to it! I will do if it’ll help people 🙂

      • Joanna says:

        Oh, it will! As I said, I have a Brit cookbook to refer to, but others may not, or may not want to look up equivalents on the internet. btw, American measuring cups and measuring spoons aren’t made uniformly, so I’m rather envious of your Brit kitchen scales to measure dry ingredients by weight rather than volume! ;D

        • I didn’t know that, thought they were all 240ml… I do find scales easier because a weight is a weight, whereas I’d have thought cups of dry ingredients could vary as to whether it’s close-packed or not…?

  7. Catherine says:

    Mmmm flapjacks are the food of champions. Intrigued by the secret ingredient of condensed milk! I also loled at the ‘straight into your gaping jaws’ bit, too true. Been meaning to say hi, found your blog the other day and have been having a bit of a read 🙂

    • The condensed milk makes all the difference, the caramel flavour and texture… and it is so true, I end up scraping the leftover caramel (funny how there always is some left over…) from the pan straight into my mouth… 😉
      And thank you very much!

  8. AnnaTheApple says:

    I pretty much could eat condensed milk straight from the tin. It’s like heaven. I can completely understand why these flapjacks are the best 🙂 I just worry I wouldn’t get past the condensed milk part of this recipe hehe.

  9. Kailey says:

    chewy + fudgey + carmely = IM IN 🙂

  10. Hannah says:

    These do look and sound incredible… but surely anything “ultimate” has to have a nut butter involved somewhere? 😛

    • Well usually I’d agree – or chocolate – but I think these have to be the exception that proves the rule! Having said that, a peanut butter and banana version – or peanut butter and chocolate…. 😉

  11. Weighting For 50 says:

    Those look so good! You are forgiven! 🙂 Have a wonderful week.

  12. Haha, I love how oats make anything “health food.” I mean, that’s how nutrition works, right? The oats cancel out the sugar and butter? It’s like eating nothing at all!

    (But brown sugar and golden syrup? Count me in for one–or two–of these during the holiday season 😀 )

    • Definitely; it’s like how the pile of vegetables I had for dinner tonight cancels out the ice cream and chocolate I had afterwards… 😉
      And the caramel is just so good, it’s the sticking to one – or two – that’s the only problem…!

  13. mmmarzipan says:

    Love the sound of these! 🙂

  14. These look divine – I totally agree with you about the amount of sugar though. To be consumed with moderation perhaps (not that I’d be capable of that 😉

  15. Pingback: Eating like a horse

  16. Pingback: That Which Shall Not Be Named | Eating like a horse

  17. Nicky says:

    Thanks for sharing your flapjack recipe! Made a batch a few days ago and thought they were good, but then tried one today after they had “matured” into sheer, unadulterated, condensed milk squodge heaven… Oh my. Amazing. Will be making these again.

Thank you for commenting!

