And…. breathe.

Well it was nice to go back to work today – for a break!

The weekend was manic; I had to drive to Essex on Saturday morning and didn’t get back till about 2.30pm, then I had a quick lunch, went to the yard, rode, mucked out, came back and had half an hour to get ready, then went out again.

It was the annual village floats parade and fireworks and although we weren’t on a float this year, it was brilliant.

Apologies for that truly shocking on-a-phone-in-the-dark photo! That was a samba band, marching with the floats, which was genius. Apparently, someone had complained that a samba band was “not very English”. And your point is…?!

Then it was up at 6am yesterday to go to my first jumping show with THWNN; a team thing for a riding club. It wasn’t the best of starts, at it was torrential rain and freezing cold – with additional downpours of hail – all morning. My friend and I got soaked to the skin – and it didn’t help that I gave my head a massive crack on the lorry wing-mirror and fell into some nettles before we went… 😦

But the boy was a star. The jumps were only small but it was a big show centre, with very bright-coloured fences and lots to look at – but he didn’t look at anything, jumping a really nice clear round.

Our team came seventh, which was good, but I was most pleased with how the boy went 🙂

We didn’t get back till about 2.30-3pm, then it was another quick lunch, back up the yard to muck out, finally getting home about 7pm. Completely knackering weekend but all good!

I think it’s going to be an early night tonight, after this lovely dinner:

I love salmon (I just wrap it in foil, with a slice of lemon, and bake at 180C for about 25 minutes-ish) and my new favourite thing to go with it is a pile of mushrooms sauted with garlic salt… delicious.

I’m off to bed – have a good week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to And…. breathe.

  1. runningcupcake says:

    Enjoy your bed 🙂 That sounds very busy indeed!

  2. Love that you and the horse are still clicking! And winning!

  3. AnnaTheApple says:

    Wow that sounds positively manic! Congrats on the show! Glad it went well. I do love salmon. Such an easy but nutritious meal, yum!

  4. Kailey says:

    Congrats on placing 🙂
    Hope you have an awesome weekend girl!

  5. Fran@BCDC says:

    Congrats on the great show! I wish I knew more about horse shows, but It sounds like you’re very happy with your result. Excellent!

Thank you for commenting!

