You can with a pecan

Do you want to see what happens when you add baking powder instead of bicarbonate of soda to a batch of cookies by mistake? Warning, it’s not nice:

Yeah.

And by then, I’d run out of the ingredients necessary for the cookies I wanted to make.

Bum.

Luckily, I’d snapped up an amazingly bargainous bag of pecans from Asda and, spotting a recipe for macaroon-type biscuits made with ground almonds, I adapted, rolled up my sleeves and made:

They’re my first contribution to this year’s 12 Weeks of Christmas Treats, hosted again by the lovely Brenda. I may be a few weeks late but better late than never!

I have to warn you that this the stickiest, irritatingest, most awkward dough ever. Plus, as I found to my cost, the biscuits do a weird exploding thing in the oven, so although they were neat little hearts when they went in, when they came out – they weren’t.

But they were delicious… and I quite like the exploded look.

1 egg white

160g sieved icing sugar

85g pecans

Toast pecans at 180C for 5-8 minutes, until they look crisper and smell amazing (so technical).

Beat the egg white lightly in a large bowl with a wooden spoon. Stir in the icing sugar and mix till smooth. Remove 3tbsp of this paste and set aside.

Grind the pecans to a meal, then stir into the main mixture till smooth. Then, and this is the mission bit, roll the dough to about 1/4″ thick, swearing as little as is possible. (I ended up having to use two silicon baking sheet covers, both dusted with icing sugar).

Spread the dough with the separated icing sugar mixture and leave until the icing’s set, about half an hour.

Preheat oven to 150C, then wield your favourite cookie cutters and bake (well spaced out!) on a lined sheet for ten minutes, until cookies are firm and golden. Leave to cool on the trays.

Realise when you eat the first one that all the swearing was worth it 🙂

Other highlights of the last week (I can’t believe there’s been such a big gap since my last post, obviously, I got out of the habit of blogging! Must do better, see me, etc.) include taking THWNN to his first jumping show – or intending to.

Although I’d been more organised than ever before, the lorry decided it would rather not start, thank you very much, on Sunday morning and even when it was finally persuaded to with half an hour on the battery charger, it thought it would be funny if the windscreen wipers and indicators didn’t work either. I disagreed. Hopefully, this weekend will go more according to plan.

But the real highlight from my point of view was work-related – I’ve been promoted! There’s been a shuffle about and I’m going to be news editor 🙂

Have a great weekend! Anyone going to any fireworks parties, or doing anything else exciting?…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to You can with a pecan

  1. Oh, my. Those turned out “interesting”.

  2. Yeah, that has totally happened to me before too! No plans this weekend except school.. blah! Hope you have a nice weekend! ❤

  3. runningcupcake says:

    They look lovely- I think I would have been tempted to not use cutters, but just blob the dough onto the baking sheets (so technical) or maybe pipe it like you do with macaroons? Sounds fab anyway.

  4. AnnaTheApple says:

    Congrats! 🙂 Ah how sad about the cookies. I hate it when that happens (I often fail at baking so I feel your pain!)

  5. Oh my gosh, congrats on the promotion! That’s so awesome!

  6. Thank you! i’d been thinking I needed to move on really but didn’t want to so it was perfect timing 🙂

  7. Congratulations on your promotion. The cookies don’t need to look perfect, they just need to taste good. Thanks for posting.

  8. Fran@BCDC says:

    I think the cookies look tasty, regardless of their shape. Congrats on your promotion, Eleanor…How Exciting!!!

  9. Pingback: Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

