A great British bake-off weekend

Well, three cakes. One of which wasn’t even baked. Mille feuille or gateau Saint Honore a la passion they weren’t… but they were very tasty.

First up was this, for our lovely receptionist Wendy’s birthday:

She loves peanut butter, possibly more than life itself, so I Googled “peanut butter cake” – and went for this one, from BBC Good Food.

Unfortunately, I had to leave the office before it was cut but a text from my colleague Antony, who always gives me an honest criticism, read “OMG – cake”. I think that was a positive reaction – and to be honest, I’d, er, sampled the filling and topping as I was making it. And yeah. Mmmmmmm…

The second was for my colleague Phil’s birthday:

I went for my ground almond sponge as it’s so versatile and seems to work with loads of different flavours and fillings. Because I still haven’t truly fulfilled my ambition to make a white chocolate cake, I had a half-try with this one; folding 50g finely-grated white chocolate in with the almonds and melting some into the buttercream, which was teamed up with my mum’s homemade raspberry jam… Antony’s reaction was another “OMG”, followed by “I think this might be your best yet”. Happy colleagues.

The last was the most special because it was for the best mum ever, in my unbiased opinion, whose birthday it was on Friday:

Raw carrot cake, from this recipe, although the rawness was slightly compromised by the way I substituted walnut with toasted pecans as well as cashews. I added some lemon zest to the cake and about five times as much juice than the recipe stated to the topping as I think lemon is perfect with carrot cake and it was delicious.

And my mum loved it. And as she is the best mum ever, in my unbiased opinion, that’s all good. Happy (belated) birthday Mum xx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A great British bake-off weekend

  1. I love a good baking weekend- that carrot cake looks especially amazing 🙂 I totally agree that lemon with carrot cake is lovely.

  2. Fran@BCDC says:

    You are the Queen of Cakes! I’m not sure which one I’d dive into first! Yum!

  3. Oh you had me at that peanut butter cake, I need it!

  4. Ooo, I’d been missing your cake posts! So glad they’re back! But not glad I don’t work in your office. Checking out that raw carrot cake recipe. That’s the only sort of baking I can do–the kind that requires no baking.

  5. Kailey says:

    Not going to lie – raw desserts are so delicious. So much denser and creamier 🙂

  6. Nicole says:

    Awwww–happy birthday to your mum.

  7. Mmm – lemon and carrot cake go together perfectly! I want that peanut butter cake 🙂

  8. AnnaTheApple says:

    You really put me to shame hehe. I can barely make one cake and there you go casually whipping out THREE. You have some very lucky friends and family! 🙂

  9. I a drooling over all of these cakes!

  10. Ohhh the ground almond sponge cake sounds awesome!!

  11. Weighting For 50 says:

    Big Happy Birthday to your Mum!!!!! And happy weekend to you! You are truly a baker extraordinaire!!!

Thank you for commenting!

