Melons and nuts

Well this weekend was much the same as the last. Bright sun one day, cold the next (with the entertaining addition of howling gales and pouring rain), helping my friend at a dressage show, riding – and making flapjacks 🙂

Said howling gales and pouring rain have decided to stay put too; autumn’s definitely here!

Also similar to last week was the arrival of a box of something delicious:

Thanks to Ffion, who posted a review of 9Bars, the company said they’d send samples out of the new peanut ones – and a “sample” was six of them! They’re delicious too.

Something different was this:

I gave my dad some melon plants for his birthday in March, he planted them in the greenhouse… and look at it! I took a chunk yesterday and although I’ve never been a huge fan of melon, finding it a bit tasteless, this one was so good. I think it’s the same as with any home-grown fruit and veg, there’s just so much more flavour.

And talking of home-grown:

I’ve been eating the spinach from my garden, although there hasn’t been that much so I’ve still been supplementing from the supermarket *makes mental note actually to do some watering next year* but the pak choi are just about ready now too – and I’m quite happy with those!

It’s really nice raw, with much more flavour than lettuce, I think, but also a great addition to my dinner Mount Vegerests…

If I just put more effort in, I think I could grow some decent veg but – well. There’s always room for  improvement… as also proved by the childish post title – I couldn’t resist… 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Melons and nuts

  1. Glad you liked the bars, I wasn’t expecting so many either!

  2. Jess says:

    9Bar are amazing, aren’t they? I certainly never expected six to turn up either!

    Hehe, I love the post title, and the idea of a ‘Mount Vegerest.’ I think I scaled one tonight 😉

    xxx

  3. Love the look of that cantaloupe!

  4. runningcupcake says:

    Wow that is amazing! I wanted to try to grow melons, but I think it is too cold outside.
    9 bar were so generous weren’t they- I expected one in a jiffy bag, not 6!

  5. Dannii says:

    The weather really has been mental!
    Yay for garden spinach! We pulled carrots from out garden the other day – so exciting.

  6. Nicole says:

    I’ve become a fan of fresh-from-the-farm melons. Store-bought taste like cardboard compared to the fresh ones!

  7. I love melon! Unfortunately I don’t have a garden to grow one in at the moment, but it’s something to keep in mind for the future 🙂
    Those 9 bars look good, I need to keep my eye out for them.

  8. Well that’s a pretty awesome sample. And homegrown always tastes better–I’m not a big cantaloupe-from-the-store fan either. But homegrown? Always so sweet and tasty!

  9. Errign says:

    I actually LOL’d at Mt. Vegerest 🙂

    I’m not a melon fan either, but I think if I got a nice one from the farm it’d be better.

  10. I’m dying to try those 9bars, they sound amazing!

  11. Alex says:

    Just been on the hunt for new blogs and loved coming across yours 🙂 I was NOT aware you could grow melons in the garden, soo have to give that a go!

  12. Weighting For 50 says:

    I’m late to the party!!! Just catching up on my blog reading, and for the record, I LOVE the title of this post. Nothin’ wrong with a childish title…. Hope all is well over in your side of the world. 🙂

  13. Kailey says:

    woah I have never heard of 9 bars before, but they sound good!

Thank you for commenting!

