Put the papaya down, Orlando!

If you don’t know what that title’s on about, click here. I’ll wait.

Hilarious isn’t it?!

If you couldn’t be arsed to click, it’s the story about Waitrose asking people on Twitter why they shopped there, using the hashtag #WaitroseReasons.

I’m sure there were a couple praising the organic quinoa and hand-packed shiitake mushrooms but of course most people seized on it to take the p*ss – and it was genius.

There were comments like “I shop at Waitrose because Clarissa’s pony just WILL NOT eat Asda value straw”, “I shop at Waitrose because it makes me feel important and I detest being surrounded by poor people” and my favourite, the phrase above, overheard in a London store.

Every time I thought of that today, it made me laugh, although I don’t think it’s the monumental gaffe half the media are saying it is, I think it got them huge publicity, and not in a negative way, and that Waitrose should play to its strengths – it is posh and it’s the only supermarket that is, market covered!

Something else that made me smile today was the arrival of this:

A box of Nakd bars, very kindly sent to me by the nice people at Natural Balance Foods. I love a good Nakd, as it were, they’re delicious, it’s always good to get good gluten-free food in mainstream – and that little lot should keep me going for at least… er… *cough*… let’s move on, shall we?!

To the thing that didn’t make me smile:

The lovely district council at work has decided to start charging for most on-street parking, which is always a bonus. I’ve been having to try and find (like everyone else) a space in the roadsย in which it’s still free – butย which are much further away from the office.ย I knew I had one warning in the place I used to work, as it was the first week, and I used it today – but it was still very irritating to see it on there – and did it really need to be that threatening red??!

Friday tomorrow though, at least, and I’m having a lesson on The Nameless One after work – so it’s all good ๐Ÿ™‚

Did you see the Waitrose thing? If so, what did you think? Favourite Nakd flavour??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Put the papaya down, Orlando!

  1. Jess says:

    Aww, poor Waitrose. I like them because they’re the only supermarket to have Kabocha squash. And the quality of their fruit/veggies is very good. Some of those Tweets were funny though – I liked the one about the green tokens being used as currency ๐Ÿ™‚

    Love GF Nakd bars – I think there were supposed to be some new ones coming out? Or was that just my imagination? Can’t go wrong with Cocoa Delight though – it’s still my favourite.

    xxx

  2. runningcupcake says:

    I did not hear that story, but it was funny- no thing as bad publicity I think.
    Yay for the nakd bars- my fave is the cocoa mint one. I am going to the thing in London on Monday to try the new ones (and I think have nutritional talks and stuff?)- I am hoping it will be fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I just clicked over to the story, but I hadn’t read about it before. I think I’m behind on the news because of being off work (I usually kill at least half an hour surfing the net to catch up on the latest events). I think it shows that Waitrose has a sense of humour and won’t do it any harm.
    My favourite Nakd bar is probably the chocolate orange one, but I’m also fond of gingerbread.

    • I’m like that when I’m off; I think because my job is news, I like a complete break from it! But I agree, I think it’ll be positive and they should capitalise on it with an ad campaign…
      I love the gingerbread; I’m torn between that and the cashew as to my favourite ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ll be laughing at the papaya comment today.
    Gingerbread flavor-anything is good!

  5. Dee says:

    Too funny!
    on another note, I’ve never tried a naked a bar! I feel like I am missing out they sound amazing.lol I wonder if I can get them in Canada? I’m going to go on a hunt and see!

  6. Dee says:

    p.s I’m still laughing at those tweets! Why are are some people SO funny!

  7. I’ve tried a few Nakd bars before and really like them! They fill me up without making me feel too full. Great snack for in between meals. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. I wish we had those Nakd bars where I live! I remember when you sent me some in the international blog swap and they were SO good!

  9. Leah says:

    I thought the Waitrose thing was hilarious – and agree with you, it wasn’t ALL bad for them. At least they now know where in the market they sit – and some people (like those who own an Orlando) shop there for a reason (to get papaya’s, obviously!). I am lucky enough to have a Waitrose and a Sainsbury’s close by – and I definitely choose to get special products from Waitrose when I need them.

    I LOVE Nakd bars too, my favourite is definitely the gingerbread. Now that you have mentioned rhubarb though…I am going to be on the lookout!

    • Exactly and there are people who wouldn’t consider going anywhere else – and they’re the market they don’t have to try to get! I’m the same; I can’t afford to do all my shopping there but go for bits I know they do…
      And I’m looking forward to the new flavours of Nakd ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Hahhaa! Some of those reasons for shopping at Waitrose are hilarious! I love Waitrose but it’s a shame that my “local” one is so out of the way.

Thank you for commenting!

