From one extreme to another

That was the story of this weekend; sunburn and vest tops on Saturday, scarves and coats on Sunday… very strange.

It was a bit of a flat-out one too, with a few drinks with a friend on Friday night, helping another friend at a dressage show, seeing my mum and lots of riding, including two lessons on He Who is Yet to be Named, who went brilliantlyโ€ฆ so pleased with him!

There was also some baking:

My friend who I had the bet with loves the flapjacks, as do the blokes at the yard where I’ve been having lessons. I’ve made a few batches, changing the original recipe (from a kids’ Christmas cookery book I was given at a boot fair) till, I think, I’ve come up with the ultimate:

225g butter

100g soft brown sugar

3tbsp golden syrup

350g porridge oats

Preheat oven to 180C and grease a large roasting tin (Use a heavy one. Mine was 29x20cm, measured at the top, but the mixture didn’t fill all of it!)

Melt the butter, sugar and syrup together over a low heat, until the butter’s all melted and the sugar dissolved. Take off the heat and stir in the oats, then scoop the mixture in the tin, pressing down firmly. Bake for 20-25 minutes, till the top’s golden and the edges are just darkening. The flapjacks might still be really gooey but will firm up on cooling so take care not to over-bake.

Leave to cool about ten minutes, then cut into squares but don’t try lifting them out till completely cool, or they’ll fall apart. It isn’t the end of the world if they do though, as you can’t give away the crumbles…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Using the thick, heavy roasting tin really helps give them that lovely chewy texture, I think. and I have to admit it’s been no hardship making them…. although as I made them on Saturday and didn’t give my friend hers till yesterday, it’s fair to say she didn’t get as many as she would otherwise have had…

They’re not in the slightest bit healthy, with all that sugar, syrup and butter, but they are good. And surely the oats have to counteract some of the above…?

Talking of oats though, it’s time to announce the winner of my Jordans giveaway.

Chosen at random…

Lola! Email me your details and I’ll pass them on so you can get your Jordans goodies.

Have a great week ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to From one extreme to another

  1. runningcupcake says:

    Those flapjacks look yummy ๐Ÿ™‚ My fave recipe is an old Jamie Oliver one from a magazine- but yes they all need to be left to cool- have scooped out the crumbles one too many times!

    • They’re so addictive aren’t they; I couldn’t make a whole batch to keep here as they’d be gone within a day ๐Ÿ™‚
      I saw one on Jamie Oliver’s site, I think, with condensed milk added… might have to try those ones too!

  2. Yum, I love flapjacks. I love adding fruit and nuts to them as well. They are so easy to make too, but I try not to make them very often because I would end up eating most of the batch ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Oh I love a good flap jack! I keep meaning to make some for James as he loves them. Sounds like you had a fun and busy weekend!

  4. Nicole says:

    Flap jack sounds so much more fun than “granola bar”!

  5. How fun! Those flapjacks look tasty.

  6. Well that sounds like the simplest treat ever. And so glad the unnamed one and you are clicking!

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s having the lessons which has helped the most, I’d really lost confidence in myself because of Inka so it’s brilliant to be enjoying it again…
      And flapjacks are so simple – another bonus!

  7. Lolablogger says:

    Ooh, how exciting! I’ve won! It’s taken me a while to get back here, what with having to go to work and all, but I’ll get in touch straight away. Looking forward to my goodies. And here’s another of my favourite jokes:
    Q: What’s yellow and dangerous?
    A: Shark-infested custard.
    (Please take your empty glasses to the bar… )

  8. Ooooh flap jacks are so delicious, they make such great snacks!

  9. Pingback: A confession | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

