Cereal, sticky toffee and a belated birthday

Just to contradict the title of my last post, summer’s back. Although you can definitely tell autumn’s on its way, with cold nights and shortening days, it’s been beautiful. I’ve not had the full advantage of the hot days – I work on the coast, where it’s always a few degrees colder and windier – but it’s been lovely to have some late summer sun.

It’s been a flat-out week though, which is why this post, which I meant to write on Wednesday, is only up today 🙂

First up, cake.

You know when you get one idea in your head and have to make it? It was Andy the photographer’s birthday and I knew it had to be a sticky toffee cake.

I used 3/4 quantities of this recipe (tin size issues!) with half dark brown sugar and it was amaaaaaazing.

The date puree is delicious and the cake itself (and the icing) is out of this world. No issues with leftovers on that one 🙂

And talking about cereal….. how would you like to win some?

I was contacted by Liz, representing Jordans, last week, to ask whether I’d like to try and give away some of the company’s new products. I can’t eat any of them, as they’re not gluten-free – but one of you can!

One lucky winner will get:

Super Berry Country Crisp

Super Fruity Granola

Super 3 Seeds Granola

A packet of Absolute Nut bars.

(I’d also be all over the porridge / oatmeal if I could… as I said, the mornings have been a bit chilly recently!)

To enter, leave a comment below telling me your favourite joke. Or any joke, the worse the better… just to be awkward 🙂

You can also get an extra entry for posting a link to this post on Twitter, and/or linking to it from a blog post. Leave an extra comment below for each one. It’ll be open till next Saturday and I’ll pick a winner at random after that – good luck! (Sorry to everyone else but it’s only open to people in the UK)

As far as belated birthdays go, I suddenly realised at the end of July that I’d missed my blog’s second birthday by a week, so this giveaway is a belated reverse bithday present. Type thing.

It fits after all, with my cereal lateness…. geddit?!

Hope you’re enjoying the sun 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Cereal, sticky toffee and a belated birthday

  1. runningcupcake says:

    Cereal lateness- ah I love the puns, such Dad jokes! 🙂
    I am going to have a baked goods themed joke-
    “What is the fastest cake?” ….

    “S’gone”.
    (Only I pronounce scone to rhyme with throne, so it doesn’t work with that accent haha!).

  2. Hahaha nice pun 😉 That cake looks delicious!!!

  3. That cake looks delicious!

  4. Ahh the cake looks great! Happy bloggaversiary as well. Right, my rubbish joke…

    What do you call a man with a spade in his head?

    Doug.

    Hehe sorry it’s terrible, I know!

  5. Last week I took the shell off my racing snail to try to make it go faster …
    but it made it a little sluggish

    Sorry!

  6. Rachel says:

    here goes my favorite joke, oh boy;

    why does snoop dogg use an umbrella?
    fo’ drizzle

  7. debbie says:

    Yay for giveaways I loveee Jordan’s! 🙂 A joke my colleague told me last week –

    Q : “What’s the difference between a bad golfer and a bad skydiver?”
    A : A bad golfer goes, WHACK! “Damn.” A bad skydiver goes, “Damn.” WHACK!

    Have a great day! 🙂 xxx

  8. I love sticky toffee cake and that looks amazing!

  9. That cake looks yummy! I actually could reach into my laptop and pull a slice of that right outta the screen! 🙂

  10. Dannii says:

    That cake looks delicious!!
    I am waiting for my Jordan’s Cereal from Liz too 😉

  11. Umm, that cake looks amazing! I’m trying to decide if I’m brave enough to tackle a baking project–my dad’s b’day is next month and that is just the sort of cake he’d love. Maybe I’ll have someone else bake it and pretend I did 😉

    And I’m not eligible for the giveaway, but I’m not going to pass on a chance to share my favorite science-dork joke: Some helium walks into a bar. The bartender says, “I’m sorry, we don’t serve noble gases here.” The helium does not react.

  12. I love corny jokes so even though I can’t win that delicious granola, here’s one for you:
    Where does a polar bear keep his money?
    In a “snow bank”.

  13. Hannah says:

    Oh thank heavens I’m not eligible; that joke question was too much pressure! 😛 Dear lordy that cake sounds amazing.

  14. Lolablogger says:

    Q: What’s brown and sticky (apart from your cake)?

    A: A STICK!

Thank you for commenting!

