Castrating a wildebeest

Hands up who’s had a work meeting cancelled because the other person was castrating a wildebeest?

Just me then :-)

I was supposed to be watching tapirs be given ice lollies for a feature for the paper but yep – didn’t happen, as the keeper was, er, busy at the time. I was disappointed, as tapirs are my favourites

…and there’s even a baby one there at the moment…

… but to be honest, as excuses go, there can’t be many to top that one.

It’s been a bit of a flat-out week; I don’t think I’ve got home much before 9pm at all except today, and that was only just – but Saturday tomorrow, so it’s all good.

It’s all been about quick dinners from the freezer this week, for obvious reasons, like aubergine burgers:

And moussaka:

And some bought things too, like Beany burgers:

They’re so good but too expensive to eat more often!

I’ve also been watching as much of the Olympics as I can, ie turning round to catch bits on the TV behind me at work… and go Great Britain! We’re fourth in the medal table, brilliant silver for the eventers, golds for Bradley Wiggins, the rowers, Chris Hoy and the rest – and dressage rider Charlotte Dujardin set a new Olympic record with her 83.66% score, helping the British team into first place at the moment – less than a week till I’m there!

I’m looking forward to doing not a lot this weekend; riding, sleeping and watching the Olympic showjumping will all feature heavily, I feel.

What are your favourite quick-fix meals? And have you ever had a work meeting cancelled owing to a wildebeest’s being castrated?!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Castrating a wildebeest

  1. Hannah says:

    Somehow, reading the word “castration” and then seeing the shape of a tapir’s face…. I’m giggling. Ridiculously-much giggling.

  2. I almost spit out my coffee when I read your headline!
    Favorite quick dinner right now is salad using all of the fresh produce from my dad’s garden!

  3. runningcupcake says:

    Er, I must say that no I have never had something cancelled for that reason!
    I am loving the Olympics so much! I missed loads yesterday as I was at a wedding all day, which was fab, but I am trying to catch up today on what I missed- team GB are doing so well at the moment :)
    Quick meals for me in the summer are salads with bought tofu (cheating), or beam burgers that I have already made and are in the freezer, or a baked sweet potato (in microwave).

    • It’s brilliant isn’t it, I’m flicking between the rowing and the showjumping as we speak – loads of medals today already!
      I was just thinking last night that a baked sweet potato would be nice, and quick, but didn’t have any – on the shopping list!

  4. Dannii says:

    Omg – I have never seen a tapirs before. They are adorable!

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of that animal before its beautiful! I’ve been enjoying the Olympics I’ve been able to watch too, will be sad when it comes to an end but at least we also have the Paralympics to look forward too as well!

    • They’re lovely aren’t they, kind of like a cross between a horse, an elephant and a pig! I don’t think I’ll know what to do with myself once the Olympics and Paralympics are over :-)

  6. That’s way better than the usual “running late” reason!

  7. Awww, tapirs need more love, they are just TOO cute. And I’ve never had a meeting be cancelled for even a slightly interesting reason, much less for a large animal castration. My life is lacking.

Thank you for commenting!

