A surfeit of superlatives

Did you see it?!

The London 2012 opening ceremony was amazing, stunning – superb. From Blake’s “green and pleasant land”…

…to the dark satanic mills…

… to the forging of the Olympic rings…

The opening sequence was out of this world. Add to that the genius Bond film (can’t believe the Queen actually did it, brilliant!) the comic inspiration of using Mr Bean, the music, the drumming, Voldemort, Sir Steve Redgrave, the cauldron…. wow. For the second time this summer, I’ve seen something that reminds me how proud I am to be British :-)

The rest of the weekend flew by after that. Saturday was my goddaughter’s second birthday. she had a brilliant time at her party with all her friends and it was a lovely day – but tiring! Happy birthday to a very beautiful and special girl xx

Sunday was busy too but I’ve been keeping up with the Olympics coverage. the bonus today was that we’ve got a TV at work and it was on. Although I’ve got my back to it, (I clearly missed a trick there) I managed to see bits of the diving and other sports. also, for the first time, I didn’t mind that I had to hang around at work because the final page plan was so late in coming today – as the cross-country phase of the eventing was on :-)

It’s a beautiful course, in Greenwich Park with the backdrop of the City of London, and the British team has moved up into silver medal position! Hopefully I’ll get to see some of the show jumping tomorrow as well – while working away industriously, of course; it’s important for us journalists to, er, keep up with current affairs, isn’t it?

Have you been watching the Olympics?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A surfeit of superlatives

  1. runningcupcake says:

    Yes! I have been loving it! I know when “Mr Bond” was going through the palace, we were going “Oh, I wonder if it is Judy Dench”- so impressed that the Queen did it! :)
    I was glued to some of the rowing yesterday, the swimming and the gymnastics in the evening (and despite that, I did manage a busy day yesterday!)- does feel like I have seen a lot but I love it! :)

  2. I’ve been watching the swimming events. Those are some fit people!

  3. When do you get to go see horses?? I was reading about dressage and Hoketsu the other day (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/4462390/Oldest-Olympian-Hiroshi-Hoketsu-is-71-year-old-dressage-rider.html)–Oldest Olympian at the games, too cool!

    • That’s brilliant, I love this quote: “But my secret is to have a good life, enjoy yourself and do the things that make you happy” :-)
      It was great to see Mary King do so well today too and she’s 51, bless her. I go a week on Thursday, for the freestyle final, can’t wait!

  4. AnnaTheApple says:

    I thought the opening ceremony was great. I loved all the references. The start was very Lord of The Rings-y. We’re not doing too badly so far in terms of events. Whoop whoop team GB!

  5. I love the opening ceremony and the Queen’s acting debut! :D

  6. Definitely watching, but I’ll cheat and check the results online during the day.

  7. Errign says:

    Honestly, I haven’t! I’ve only seen the opening ceremonies so far – I’m much more of a winter olympics fan!

  8. I think if you only watched one thing though, the opening ceremony would be worth it!

Thank you for commenting!

