St Swithin’s Day

If on St Swithin’s Day, it is rainy weather, it will rain more or less for 40 days together.

It just goes to show how ridiculously superstitious I am that I waited till nearly the end of St Swithin’s Day, ie today, to post this.

Basically, the old wives’ tale goes, if it rains on July 15, you then get a lot more of it. So I’m very very glad that today’s been the first entirely dry one for ages. Here’s hoping ๐Ÿ™‚

I hope it is nice this week, as I’m off work, woop! I suddenly realised the summer weeks were all getting snapped up by my colleagues and if I wanted one, I had to get in there pretty snappy – so I did ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ll be riding, going shopping as I haven’t been for ages, catching up with friends I don’t see very often and hopefully going to watch some showjumping at Hickstead, weather permitting.

And on a similar equestrian-type note, these arrived yesterday:

Tickets to the Olympics!ย We’re going to the individual final of the kur, or dressage to music… as I said to a girl at work, if you don’t like horses, you’ll think something along the linesย of “er… great” but if you do, I think you’ll agree it’s absolutely beautiful toย watch and so skilful – and we’ll be seeing the medal ceremony – can’t wait!

The only bad thing about these arriving is that I had to sign for them – and the postman delivered them at 7.45am yesterday. I heard a knock on the door while I was asleep, stumbled downstairs and hid behind the front door as I opened it. I remember the postman saying they needed signing for, taking one look at my Thing From the Swamp just-woken-up face and Thing From the Hedgerow bed hair and saying hastily “I’ll just sign it myself, shall I?” I mumbled “yes, because I’m asleep”… I think I must have dreamt the screech of bicycle tyres; he couldn’t have been that desperate to get away. Could he?

๐Ÿ™‚

On a food note, it may not be at all summery, but it’s all about summer breakfast at the moment:

Strawberries, blueberries, yoghurt and home made granola – perfect.

I also tried something new, thanks to Genius. I had an email asking whether I’d like to try some new products and as I really like the Genius bread (the closest GF loaf I’ve had to the real thing) I said yesthankyouplease. They sent me croissants and pain au chocolate.

I had a croissant first, with raspberry jam:

I have to say my first thought was “I don’t like it”! It was because it didn’t taste as I expected it to – but I’m nothing if not tenacious so I kept at it – and actually, was really impressed. It wasn’t exactly like the “real thing”, as I remember, but it was actually almost better. The flakiness was there and it had that lovely rich flavour, just in a different way.ย Thumbs up to that – then onย to the chocolate:

Need I say more? The pastry was a great texture; I don’t think any different to a normal gluten-containing one, and yeah… melted chocolate in the middle? Go on then.

I have to say neither of these is a product I’d normally buy, even if I could eat gluten, as I’m not a great fan of pastry. But if I were, I’d buy these. Both were delicious and if you can’t eat gluten and miss this sort of thing, I’d say go for it ๐Ÿ™‚

Something else sweet and delicious comes courtesy of my mum. I’ve said before that she used to make us all the most fantastic birthday cakes and here’s the proof – the one she made my nephew for his seventh birthday:

Isn’t it amazing? He’s really into his underwater animals at the moment so he said that was what he wanted. My mum made the sea, island,ย sharks and sharks’ fins from icing, then used Lego men for the pirates… it’s just so brilliant and, just for a finishing touch, there was a treasure chest made of After Eights, with jelly sweets in it and guarded by another Lego pirate, hidden round the other side of the island – a masterpiece ๐Ÿ™‚

And I think now, at gone 10pm, it’s probably safe even for someone as superstitious as me to publish this post… although I don’t think there’s anything that says if it’s dry today it won’t rain for the next 40… Balls ๐Ÿ™‚

Are you superstitious? Did you have rain today? And pastry, yay or nay?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to St Swithin’s Day

  1. runningcupcake says:

    I am not superstitious, but I hope this time it is right and we do not have 40 more days of rain!
    I am not a pastry fan either, but every now and then I like a croissant with jam, or a raisin one. But probably once a year!

    • Me too, fingers crossed, although the ground definitely looks wet outside this morning and the sky’s fairly black!
      I’ve never tried a raisin croissant, they sound nice but once a year was probably as much as I had them, when I could ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. The pastries look amazing. I’m starving!

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  3. Hahaha oh my gosh!!!! My mom made me a lego cake when I was younger because I was OBSESSED With legos!!! This made me smile ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Oh god I really hope that is a good omen for better weather! I’m like you through and despite the rain I’m still trying to eat summery foods when I can!

  5. Jessica says:

    Thankfully we didn’t have rain. Summer is supposed to arrive next week according to the weather forecasts, but then again what do they really know? ๐Ÿ˜›

    Adorable cake – your Mum is very talented, and it’s obviously heriditary too.

    I can’t say I’ve ever liked pastry much – there’s just something about the way it sticks to the roof of your mouth that sets my teeth on edge! Even with the cornflake tart I used to like, I ate all of the filling and left most of the pastry!

    xxx

    • I heard that too but then others say differently; it’s all down to the jet stream, apparently… It probably will be nice here next week though, when I’m back at work!
      Thank you; she’s so artistic; I’d be pleased if mine were half as good ๐Ÿ™‚
      I know exactly what you mean, especially with savoury things; I’d always leave the pastry on my plate when I had it!

  6. Dannii says:

    Where is our summer????? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ “Apparently”, it is going to be nice at the end of August into September. Here is hoping!

  7. Oops, it did rain yesterday. Hopefully that rule/superstition doesn’t cross countries–although I may hate the gray weather, but my garden loves it.

    I can’t believe you get to go watch Olympic-level dressage! I am beyond jealous. It’s just, so stunning, even on TV, so I can’t imagine how great it would be to see live!

    • I’m sure it’s just Britain; he was a British saint after all ๐Ÿ™‚
      I knew you’d appreciate the dressage; I’ve only ever seen the kur on TV but as you say, that’s so beautiful, I can’t wait to see it live – lots of pictures and hopefully video to come!

      • I’m looking forward to your recap on it! I’ll at least live out some horse-related fantasies through your blog ๐Ÿ˜€ Maybe if the Olympics make it back to the states one of these days…

  8. How exciting to be going to the Olympics! I hope you have good time!

  9. AnnaTheApple says:

    That cake looks so good, your mum is amazing! Birthday cake is one of the best cakes I think. Always a winner.

  10. I’m a huge pastry fan. Totally having one today!

  11. Pingback: Olympics–Eventing | Apples and Arteries

  12. So excited that you’ll be getting to see some of the events!

Thank you for commenting!

