Summer breeze…

Makes me feel fii-iiine

If I was being really picky, I’d mention that it was blowin’ through the jasmine in my mind just a bit too hard 🙂 but it’s been a proper Phew What A Scorcher of a weekend.

It makes me so happy that, after so much miserable wet, cold horribleness, summer’s here… big time. Everywhere looks so beautiful at the moment – I think this time of year’s my favourite.

It’s made me want more summery food, like the first of this year’s yoghurt/fruit/granola breakfasts on Friday, and again today:

And these, of course:

So good to see British strawberries again and these ones were grown in Kent; I like the way Sainsbury’s says where they came from and names the farmer… I also like the way they were half price 🙂

And as it was so summery…

I was going to try the banana ice cream again but realised I didn’t have any bananas – and as the name suggests, they’re a fairly important part of the whole process.

So I took my strawberries and made this frozen yoghurt again, with some variations so worth posting again:

430g plain soya yoghurt

200g fresh strawberries

200ml canned coconut milk. I only had half-fat but I’d imagine full fat would give an even creamier result…

60g caster sugar

2tbsp agave

Blend everything together, chill for half an hour, then pour into an ice cream machine and follow its instructions.

I thought at first it was going to be another fail, as you’re only supposed to fill the bowl between half and two-thirds full and I didn;t realise these quantities made too much until I’d just about filled it… but it was fine, although the overloading could explain the long time it took to get to the right consistency.

I also folded in some crushed mini meringues, for an Eton mess effect.

I think the canned coconut milk is the way forward; the flavour and texture is amazing and using fresh rather than frozen strawberries made it taste so… strawberrylike. It’s a miracle any of it made it into the freezer 🙂

With red strawberries, white meringues and some blueberries, it’s just the right colour for the Jubilee, as is this:

Speaking of summer food, I was at my friends’ for a barbecue last night and it would have been rude not to get on the Pimm’s. It’s possible I was a bit too keen on not being rude… but that’s another story 🙂

I’m sure there will be more of the above next weekend – I really hope this weather holds for the Jubilee. My neighbours and I put our bunting up today, it’s going to look gorgeous when the whole village is done… should be great!

Are you going to any Jubilee events?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Summer breeze…

  1. I really have to make my own frozen yoghurt! Yours looks amazing!

  2. Kailey says:

    honestly I can’t get over how fresh your strawberries look. The ones at my grocery stores always have mold on them 😦

  3. Jessica says:

    Mmm, I could really use a delivery of that gorgeous frozen yoghurt. I don’t usually like strawberry ice creamy things but the idea of putting crushed meringue in there sounds amazing.

    I’m going to have to be a complete grump and say that the weather is a wee bit *too* hot for me, but still preferable to ice and snow of course 😉

    xxx

    • I wouldn’t normally choose strawberry ice cream either but this was lovely; I think using fresh ones makes so much difference. And as meringues/fruit/yoghurt is one of my favourite puddings, I couldn’t resist!
      And I do know what you mean; I wouldn’t want it hotter than the weekend all the time as it would be draining but it was so nice for once – and definitely always better than evil coldness 🙂

  4. runningcupcake says:

    Wow that ice cream sounds amazing! Will have to try that recipe at some point I think 🙂
    I am not doing anything at home for the Jubilee, as we are going away, but at school we are having a picnic- we made bunting for it last week so that will be fun 🙂

    • It was lovely, especially with the flavour from the coconut milk. It must be great working at a school now, I bet the kids are so excited and the picnic sounds good… there’s a family fun day here on the Monday and I’m really looking forward to it 🙂

  5. I love my full fat coconut milk ice cream but because I just whack it in the freezer its like a solid block! I need an ice cream maker! I was thinking about Pimms for next weekend, nothing says British summer for me like a glass of Pimms and Lemonade!

    • I bet that’s good too, or freezing it in lolly moulds… you could swirl some strawberry jam in too, I bet that would be lovely 🙂
      And yep, I think it might be seen as unpatriotic not to get on the Pimm’s… and we don’t want that…!

  6. Now I want to buy some bananas to freeze!

  7. Haha that sounds like a fun weekend!!! I’ve never had Pimms!!

    Yogurt/Fruit/Granola are my normal breakfasts, hot or cold out! haha

    • You’ve GOT to try it! It’s amazing, with lemonade and sliced strawberries, apples etc floating in it… the only problem is, it doesn’t taste alcoholic at all and it’s so nice, it can be a bit lethal 🙂

  8. Weighting For 50 says:

    I’m in Canada now, but was born in the U.K, so to celebrate my roots and the Royal Jubilee, we bought a bottle of Pims this weekend too!!! Our plan is to crack it open on the upcoming weekend. And wow….that frozen yogurt looks amazing. Have a great week.

  9. I’ve also made the switch to fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal/granola for breakfast. Fresh strawberries from the farmers market are the best right now! I also found amazing white nectarines that are just the best!

  10. Errign says:

    I’ve tried to make non-dairy ice creams before but they always get such an icy consistency after they’re frozen!

  11. I never thought of adding coconut milk to oats – great combination – I’ll have to try. I’m so sorry that I’m not in the UK for the jubilee celebrations 😦

  12. One of the local stores had ice cream makers on sale. I thought about it, then said, no…I’m trying to be thrifty…Now you have me thinking again. Oh, What To Do?! Great job, getting the berries half price!!

    • Ooh, dilemma! I am completely addicted to ice cream so it was a bonus and if they were on sale…. 🙂
      And I love the bargain fresh fruit and veg at this time of year; fresh local produce is the way forward!

  13. Trisha says:

    Perfect for summer! Can’t wait to try this!

Thank you for commenting!

