#Fail

One of my colleagues asked on Friday what I was doing this weekend. I said, “making ice cream”, which I think covered the most important aspects of it 🙂

So there I was yesterday, hazelnut-infused roasted banana concoction churning away to my left, a cheeky caramel sauce bubbling away in front of me, feeling like a dessert goddess.

Next minute, the ice cream maker screeched to a halt and by  the time I’d realised it didn’t want to start again, I had a lump of tooth-shatteringly hard burnt sugar in a panful of dirty-looking liquid.

Balls.

I’d made half-quantities of the roasted banana recipe from David Lebovitz’s book and it did say to add more liquid to the mixture before you put it in the machine, “if it looks too thick”. Well clearly it was, which is why the maker couldn’t cope. But as a novice in the world of ice cream, (or the world of making ice cream) I didn’t realise. I scraped the mixture out of the machine and froze it anyway.

It tasted amazing, even though it wasn’t quite creamy enough and I didn’t want to start again so today, I used this frozen yoghurt, with bananas instead of the strawberries, mashing them, melting in the microwave and using maple syrup in stead of the agave.

I’d also half-heartedly had another go at the caramel, which didn’t look much cop but by adding loads more milk (Kara coconut works perfectly) and reducing it over a low heat, I came up with some cajeta:

Clearly I’d reduced it a bit too much; it was like toffee this morning – and yes, I know what it looks like in that picture 🙂

But microwaved and with a bit more Kara added, it was fine (and amazingly addictive).

I scooped the ice cream into mini pots, topping each one with a spoonful of the caramel:

It was brilliant – I love the roasted banana taste, you couldn’t fail to want to eat a whole bowl of the cajeta (or is that just me…?) and the chopped hazelnuts’ flavour goes perfectly. But the consistency still wasn’t quite right; the machine instructions say to stop “when it reaches the desired consistency” but I haven’t got any sort of clue what consistency I do desire…

Looks like I’ll just have to keep practising then *sigh*. It’s a hard life 🙂

Have a great week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to #Fail

  1. Jessica says:

    Unfortunately I have an aversion to condensed milk, so the cajeta would be a no-go for me, but the ice cream sounds absolutely amazing.

    I had an ice-cream maker bought for me for my 19th birthday…and I still don’t know how to use it properly! Mind you, you’re talking to the person who can mess-up banana soft serve…

    xxx

    • Stupid question but do you mean the condensed milk in tins or any milk that has been condensed? If it’s the tins, you can make the cajeta with Kara coconut milk (or I imagine almond or soya would work too)
      And that makes me feel better, although I bet you didn’t try to test the consistency while the machine was churning, with a spoon, which then got stuck… not that I did that either, of course… 🙂

  2. Ah! I’m sorry about the ice cream fail! I’ve never actually used an ice cream maker, haha. I just use my vitamix!

  3. Still looks delicious to me!

  4. dohh sorry to hear about the ice cream fail! I do have to say though, it still looks pretty good hehe

  5. I think practice will make perfect but that still looks extremely delicious!

  6. Things never seem to work out for me the first time I try them! It sounds delicious though and truly who cares what it LOOKS like…as long as it tastes good!

  7. I’ve only tried making ice cream a few times, and all attempts were fails. Yours looks not only edible but delicious! 🙂

  8. You have to keep experimenting? You’re right, life IS hard ;D Can’t wait to see what you continue to come up with, because imperfect consistency or not, it all sounds delicious!

  9. runningcupcake says:

    Ah practise makes perfect after all! When I first got my ice cream maker I made some mint choc chip ice cream, only I was too generous with the mint flavouring, and it tasted like mouthwash! Not good!

  10. Weighting For 50 says:

    Practice does indeed make perfect!!! Happy practicing. Have a great week.

  11. I still think it looks divine!

  12. Homemade ice cream sounds like the perfect summary of a weekend…and the sauce sounds delish, no matter what it looked like the next morning!

  13. Errign says:

    I loooooove making ice cream, but it is certainly an experiment all the time!

  14. I think it looks super yum especially for a mistake! I just made the most amazing avocado chocolate pudding with my Vitamix, they are amazing!

Thank you for commenting!

