A diamond in the rough

Does anyone else think of the little geezer from the beginning of Aladdin when they hear that phrase?

But this isn’t about any genies, lamps or talking carpets -just a day at work 🙂

I was editing all last week and Monday but the editor was back on Tuesday. I thought he’d do the last day of that paper but as he had so much else to do – and as it’s a complete nightmare to take over on a Tuesday when you don’t know what else has been sent to the paper – I had to do all the final sending and proofing as well as my writing.

Add to that a HUGE story that broke this week and it meant a long day, culminating in me having a gritted-teeth-polite-to-someone-who’s-really-being-a-complete-arse conversation with a press officer, who I’d been chasing for a response since last Thursday, at 6.40pm and finally leaving the office nearly an hour later. Not good.

But whenever I caught sight of this logo on my computer, it made me get a big grin on my face:

I got Olympics tickets!!

Edit: I’ve just realised that’s actually the Paralympics logo. Blame my newfound screen-grabbing skill not being fast enough to do it before t’other one flicked over… 🙂

The buying window re-opened for equestrian events on Tuesday and as I’d been unsusccessful twice before, I had to rub my eyes a couple of times when I saw the “your purchase has been succesful” message. We’re going to the individual dressage final – with medal ceremony – on August 9… definitely the diamond in a rough day 🙂

Another diamond from this week:

On a lazy evening when I’d run out of apples for breakfast crumbles and couldn’t be bothered to make porridge for the morning, I just cooked the carrot, added the oats, spice, flax seed and water to the bowl and left it to soak overnight. Yes, it looked exactly the same, tasted exactly the same and pretty much was exactly the same but it saved on time – and washing-up. And in these times of drought…

… Ya gotta do what ya can, int’cha? Maybe not quite a diamond  – but a cubic zirconia, at least 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to A diamond in the rough

  1. Jessica says:

    I thought about Aladdin as soon as I saw the post title! We must be on a similar wavelength (well, when it comes to Disney, at least!)

    Oh God, the weather recently. Ugh. That’s all I have to say about that.

    Congrats on the Olympics tickets – I’m sure you’ll have such a wonderful time 🙂

    xxx

    • Haha, great minds think alike, obviously 🙂
      Ugh is definitely about right on the weather, ’nuff said, but can’t wait for the Olympics; can’t believe I got tickets! xx

  2. Wowww how cool! I would flippen loveeee to go! I will just have to live vicariously through you 🙂 And now the whole Aladdin movie is stuck in my head- I have seen it so many times I can recite the entire dang thing lol.. kind of sad

  3. Alexandra says:

    HOW AWESOME!!!! I can’t wait to see all the pictures you take, like Tessa said, I’ll be living vicariously through you! 🙂

  4. Maria says:

    Yes I thought of Aladdin too! Love that film.
    And hooray for getting olympics tickets 🙂 Yay! And as for the sunflower seed butter- I got it in a local health food shop, but when I googled it (to add the link to my post) it seemed to be for sale on lots of UK websites.

  5. That’s fantastic news about your tickets! I think I’ve been having one of those weeks too, roll on the weekend!

  6. So cool that you’ll be heading to the Olympics!

  7. I’m so excited that you got Olympics tickets!! Love the last photo…so pretty!

  8. Arabian niiiii-ights, like Arabian daaaaa-ays, more often than not, are hotter than hot, in a lot of good waaays…

    Yeah, that’s going to be in my head all day now.

    (And awesome about the olympics–dressage is so absolutely stunning to watch, I’m jealous!)

    • Arabian niiiights, ‘neath Arabian moooooons, a fool off his guard, could fall and fall hard, out there on the duuuuuunes….. I needed a decreasing font for the last bit really 😉
      If it’s any consolation, it’s been in my head ever since too!
      And I can’t wait, dressage to music at top level is just out off this world… I think Tortilas will be there!

  9. Congrats on the tickets! Love the movie, btw.

  10. Sweet Potato Sarah says:

    Ooooh the dressage will be so fun! Hope you have a great time, bet you’re counting down the days! 😀

  11. Errign says:

    Congrats on Olympic tickets – that’s AWESOME!

Thank you for commenting!

