Cake and ice cream

Thank you very much for the birthday wishes! I had a lovely day.

I went shopping with my friend in the morning and we had lunch, then rode (just as it started raining, for a change).

Then I saw my mum, who’d made me a cake:

You won’t believe how good this was. It had banana, chopped dates and hazelnuts in it and a lovely caramelised honey/hazelnut topping – and doesn’t it look beautiful? It tasted even better, which is my only excuse for having four pieces on Wednesday. And almost a whole bag of chocolate Brazil nuts. Oops πŸ™‚

My mum said the cake had to have a candle in it:

I took those pictures with my mum’s iPhone and I’m not sure why the flash made it look a funny colour…

My mum gave me this amazing card and….

An ice cream maker! I know what I’ll be doing tomorrow πŸ™‚

I got some other lovely presents too:

My friend and I had both really wanted to see War Horse in the cinema but never got organised enough so she gave it to me on Wednesday and we watched it at hers after dinner – but unfortunately, we realised we’d been gassing too much to do it justice so we stopped halfway through and will watch the rest later πŸ™‚

I also love the book of ice cream recipes (there are some great ones in there, be prepared for lots of ice cream photos!) and the lovely matching cake tin and flour/sugar shaker – and more addictive chocolate Brazils. The card that made me laugh the most is also there on the left…

It’s because a former colleague (who himself admitted he was a little bit sleazy) who maintained that at some point, we agreed that if we hadn’t got married by the age of 40, we’d marry each other. However much I protested I had never agreed, he insisted we had and it’s become a huge office joke. So my colleagues managed to find a picture of a married couple, superimpose his and my faces on to the bride and groom and write a message “Dearly beloved” supposedly from him – I swear I haven’t laughed so much since Sister Ruth the mad nun came into the office last year (but that’s another story entirely). It was hilarious.

TonightΒ I’m going out with a couple of friends, one of which is the girl that insisted on the Jagerbombs last time we went out. I fear I may not be back tomorrow πŸ™‚

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Cake and ice cream

  1. Maria says:

    Glad you had a lovely birthday- those prezzies look great especially the ice cream maker and book πŸ™‚ And love the card too- at least you have ages before you get to 40!
    Also that cake looks amazing- well done your Mum πŸ™‚

    • The only thing is, it’s getting closer every year, I’ll have to find a husband soon πŸ™‚
      And thank you, I’m going to have to make that cake myself, it was delicious!

  2. Alexandra says:

    It sounds like a lovely and amazing birthday! That cake sounds to die for and yay for the ice cream maker! Can’t wait to see what you’ll whip up in that bad boy πŸ™‚

  3. Ahaha, I am loving the candle in the cake, which sounds like a fantastic combination by the way! That is great you had a good birthday celebration πŸ™‚

  4. What fantastic gifts! I’d love to try out an ice cream maker and that cake does look amazing πŸ™‚

  5. Happy Birthday and keep having fun!!

  6. Jessica says:

    Hehe, I wish I could zoom in on that card. It looks like quite a professional cut and paste there actually πŸ™‚

    Glad you had a fantastic birthday, despite the weather. That’s one heck of a candle! Obviously the cake looks utterly delicious too.

    xxx

  7. Boo on the poopy weather, yay for a fantastic birthday though! Keep on celebrating girl, what a great cake!

  8. That’s great caramelization on your cake!

  9. Weighting For 50 says:

    Belated Happy Birthday!!!!! What a fun celebration. I LOVE the candle in the cake!!! May the year ahead be your best ever!!!!

  10. It sounds like you had a wonderful birthday. What perfect timing for the ice cream maker.

  11. That cake looks delicious! I love hazelnuts…just bought a bag full at the bulk bin this weekend. I’m thinking of maybe hazelnut butter with cinnamon…

  12. THAT CAKE. Holy cow. And covered in hazelnuts at that. I see where you get your cake skills! And I can’t wait to see what you come up with for ice cream.

    • Amazing isn’t it – thank you although I definitely didn’t inherit my mum’s presentation skills when it comes to cake! I’ve got to try making it myself though – and I think the banana/caramelised hazelnut thang might be just the flavour for ice cream too… πŸ˜‰

  13. Pingback: Highlights | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

