Third time lucky

Hasn’t it been a perfect May Day bank holiday weekend?

Warm sun, the hint of a breeze – flowers and, I don’t know, cute baby rabbits?

Hmmph.

It may not have rained, much, but it’s been grey, cold, windy and horrible all weekend. I keep thinking it’s May, I’ll be much too hot in my winter jacket – and then freezing in my thin one, even with two fleeces underneath 😦

Having written that bit this morning though, we did have a couple of hours’ sun this afternoon and it was suddenly obvious just how green it is everywhere, with the cow parsley just starting to come out along all the verges; you’ve got to love English countryside at this time of year.

AndΒ three days off is three days off, whatever the weather’s like.

I’m still loving pancakes for breakfast when I’m not at work, specifically these ones. I went to make some the other day, only to find I’d just about run out of the Orgran buckwheat pancake mix. so instead of doing the sensible thing and using buckwheat flour (the mix is only flours with a bit of raising agent added) I tried some other ideas, without much success.

First up, a flourless version:

Not what I’d had in mind at all, but at least it was edible, which is more than can be said for these:

Look all right don’t they? Don’t be fooled. I had the bright idea of making up the tiny bit of pancake mix I had left up to 50g with some mesquite flour I’ve had for ages. It was an eye-opener, I’ll give it that. I hate wasting food and there’s not much I won’t eat but they were revolting. I ate the blueberries and a gingerbread Nakd bar and called it a day πŸ™‚

So this morning, I did what I should have done in the first place and used flour:

Doves Farm brown blend, all good. That’ll teach me for trying to be a pancake maverick πŸ™‚

I might have to have the same on Wednesday when I’m off because… it’s my birthday! Maybe that even calls for some sort of chocolate to be involved too…. πŸ™‚

Did you get some sun today? What’s your favourite lazy-morning breakfast?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Third time lucky

  1. we had bouts of sun today but I got drenched on a cycle ride today!!! sunny one minute then showers the next, I love poached eggs on toast with mushrooms.

  2. Alexandra says:

    Happy early birthday friend!! I bet you can’t wait! You’ll have to whip up an extra special, super awesome, chocolate explosion kind of cake πŸ™‚

  3. I’m jealous of all of you with the long weekend! πŸ™‚

    I hope you enjoyed it though! Happy early Birthday!

  4. Maria says:

    Have a lovely birthday tomorrow πŸ™‚
    And ha ha to the pancake maverick! At least you know next time!

  5. I hope you have an amazing birthday and have lots of fun!!! πŸ˜€

  6. Hope you have a great birthday! Haha I had a slight fail with socca this weekend but at least that was edible. Fingers crossed for some more sun!

  7. I usually end up making egg sandwiches for Ralph and me. I should do pancakes more often. I need to look for a good mix. I’d probably end up with pancakes like yours if I started experimenting! πŸ˜‰ It’s been cold and rainy here for days. Looks like it might be sunny today, but it fooled me yesterday too.

  8. Pancakes are totally my favorite lazy (or any) day breakfast! Buckwheat ones are hard to beat. My morning have been rushed, so it’s been fruit + a spoonful of PB lately. Filling and tasty and whatever, but it is most definitely no pancake. And it looks beautiful around you, blah weather or not!

    • Thank you, I love living in the countryside, it is so beautiful even when it’s raining – but better in the sun πŸ™‚
      Buckwheat’s definitely the best for pancakes and it’s so filling – add the fruit and pb to the pancakes and it’s got to be a winner!

  9. I’ve totally had a few baking flops due to running out of ingredients and experimenting! That being said I have also discovered some pretty tasty things that way πŸ™‚ Yay for long weekends hope you got well rested πŸ™‚

  10. Happy Birthday a day late!

Thank you for commenting!

