A bit of culture

I’ve never posted about anything like this before, because the only culture I usually get is this sort:

But last night I went (check me out) to the ballet. A friend and I had been saying we wanted to go when I saw that the Vienna Festival Ballet’s production of Swan Lake was coming to the town where I work – and there were press tickets available 🙂

We both felt a bit out of place in the audience, full of mainly older people, especially when we both had a silent childish snigger at the male dancers’ costumes, and at first I actually thought I was so uncultured I was going to be bored.

But it was beautiful. The last act was especially good (although they made it a happy ending, what was all that about?!) and the lead ballerina, playing Odette and Odile, was stunning.

And talking of stunning, check out this video of Maya Plisetskaya dancing the Dying Swan – at the age of 61.

She just is a swan… beautiful.

And talking of lakes, and therefore water:

That drought’s still going strong 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A bit of culture

  1. Maria says:

    Do you ever watch Peep Show? There was an episode anyway where Jeremy and Mark go to the theatre (or the opera, or something) and they look at each other in panic and say “we could be watching television!”- anyway that make me think of that. I don’t mind a bit of culture, but once we went to the Glove theatre to see a Shakespearean medley- it was very odd (one person dressed at Juliet playing a violin on a tight rope) and I did spend most of that thinking it!
    But something skilled like ballet must be beautiful to watch.

    • Yes,I love Peep Show (and randomly sat opposite the actor who plays Jeremy on the tube once!) and that’s exactly what it was like! At the start, anyway, it was brilliant in the end. Not sure I’d be as keen to go and see Shakespeare though 🙂

  2. Errign says:

    I’ve never been to the ballet – sounds beautiful!

    • It was stunning. No dispespect to the Vienna Festival Ballet because this was brilliant, but I’d love to go and see one of the top ones doing this, on a big stage with a full cast, it’d be amazing 🙂

  3. I’d love to go to the ballet! I used to do ballet when I was little 🙂 I really wish the bloody weather would sort itself out!

  4. I would really like to go to the ballet. It looks so beautiful. Apparently it is supposed to be 17 degrees today- go figure!

  5. I would seriously loveeee to go to the ballet, what an experience, it just seems so beautiful! The weather is a bit irritating haha, it’s 30 degrees this morning and just last week I was out in shorts and a tank top!

  6. That’s an amazing video! I love going to the ballet. Haven’t been there in way too long.

  7. Dancing ballet? Baffling. Dancing ballet at 61?? Holy cow. I can’t even walk down the hall without tripping over my feet…

    • Haha, that’s how I felt; I for some reason pictured myself trying to do that and nearly laughed out loud, during a particularly moving bit on Friday…! But that video’s something else; you’d never believe she was 61!

  8. I used to dance ballet when I was younger! It was so much fun and I loved it. I dont think I can move like I could back then though.. 😛
    Glad you had a great time with your friend!

  9. Weighting For 50 says:

    Oh, I LOVE the ballet. Both traditional and modern. Gives me such an appreciation of dancers as athletes. Glad you enjoyed it. Hope you are having a great week too.

  10. caloricandcrazy says:

    that ballet does look amazing. I recently watched a movie called Mao’s Last Dancer which I enjoyed. It was about China getting into the ballet world and training young village children in ballet, and focuses on this one guy who eventually became famous in the ballet world. I recommend 😀

Thank you for commenting!

