Pigging out

Happy (belated) Easter!

I hope everyone had a lovely (and chocolate-filled) day yesterday and a good bank holiday weekend. The sun that showed its face here on Friday didn’t hang around, which was a shame.

But it’s been good anyway. We went to the Rare Breeds Centre on Saturday, which is run by a charity and does a brilliant job.

And if you want to pick a good time to go there, spring is definitely it:

I want one of those baby goats.

Aren’t they lovely? The lambs were cute too:

But the best bit was undoubtedly the pig racing:

So, so funny. The pigs are chasing food but you can tell they enjoy the running anywayΒ because they overtook the children carrying the bucket!

Then of course, Saturday evening was chocolate o’clock. Let’s not go into details. It was gooooooood πŸ™‚

And talking of chocolate, and the self-restraint mentioned in my last post, I had cause to make another cake, for my friend’s little girl, whose birthday it was. She loves horses and riding (and chocolate) so this is the one I came up with:

I said to my mum, who’s amazing at decorating cakes, that however much I start off doing it properly, with piped icing or sugar paste, I always end up just painting on the cake πŸ™‚

Of course this time, I scraped that icingΒ saucepan to my heart’s content. With the amount of the stuff I’ve got outside in the last couple of days, it would be fair to assume I’m sick of chocolate now. Not a bit of it.

On Thursday, my colleague who’d also given up chocolate for Lent asked in a mock-serious voice whether I’d learned anything from the experience. I said yes, two things.

I’ve learned that it is possible to exist without chocolate, although only just, and I’ve learned just how much I like ice cream. I’m not sure that’s entirely in the spirit of Lenten observances but still. It’s a lesson learned.

Now if you’ll excuse me, there’s a bag of Cadbury’s Mini Eggs calling my name… πŸ™‚

Have a great week!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Pigging out

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    Well, I guess that proves that I’m not the only pig who can run πŸ˜‰

    Those baby goats…I think the only appropriate word for this situation is ‘squeee!’

    Your cake is brilliant! I painted a Unicorn on a circular canvas once that looked scarily similar to that, only yours is obviously infinitely more impressive. I wish I could work that well with acrylics, let alone icing.

    I also like your take on the ‘messages’ of Lent. Ice cream is, clearly, not a seasonal food.

    xxx

  2. Alexandra says:

    AHHHHH THOSE GOATS ARE SO CUTE!!!!! I want one too! πŸ˜€ And your cake is fabulous, if only I could teleport across the pond for a slice heehee

  3. Weighting For 50 says:

    Awww….those baby goats are BEYOND adorable. And that cake? Amazing!! Have a great week.

  4. Your cake looks amazing, I think ‘painting’ it on looks even better than if it had been piped. Well done! Those animals look so adorable too!

  5. runningcupcake says:

    That cake is AMAZING!!!! Wow! And those little goats (ickle goats) are so cute! I spent most of the car journey to Bath and back getting excited every time we saw a field with lambs in it- I love the way they run around the fields.

    • Thank you very much!
      I know exactly what you mean about the way they leap about; that’s what these two kept doing and it was adorable… sadly, my camera couldn’t catch it and I just kept getting blurs πŸ™‚

  6. Happy (belated) Easter to you, too! I hope you had a nice weekend. πŸ™‚ It’s been rainy the past few days but the sun finally came out today! Yay πŸ˜€

    Those baby goats are so so cute! The cake looks awesome πŸ™‚

  7. The babies are adorable, but the cake is AMAZING! Really excellent!

  8. Oh my gosh–your cake decorating is amazing! What a gorgeous horse-themed cake. And goooooats. Adorable. I want to hug one.

  9. I want a baby goat now … although I don’t think it would be practical in my little terraced house πŸ™‚
    Well done on getting through Lent without chocolate – that’s a real achievement! I hope that you enjoyed catching up though.
    That cake looks beautiful!

    • Ooh, how did I not see this comment before, I wasn’t ignoring it! I’m sure a baby goat would fit in your house; they’re only tiny, after all πŸ™‚
      And thank you very much!

  10. What cute little animals! I love your cake!

  11. Aw! As my baby niece would say, “Cute baby animals!”

  12. Errign says:

    Cadbury Mini Eggs are amazing, and so is that cake!

  13. That cake is beautiful! There’s a lamb farm near my town that I visited a couple of years ago. It was really neat to see the Spring lambs and they were so noisy!

Thank you for commenting!

