Slightly struggling

I wasn’t feeling too special today.

But I can’t ask for any sympathy as it’s entirely self-inflicted. I’ll just mention Jagerbombs, double vodkas, a free bottle of champagne and the throwing of some (possibly, or not) amazing dancefloor shapes – and leave it there 🙂

I’ll blame the above for my blonde moment of the day: when I put some blueberries in my budget non-digital microwave to take the chill off them, (weird sensitive teeth) I forgot and left them in there, heating away = blueberry sauce:

Not quite what I’d intended but still. Not bad:

After that, I thought going out on the bike would make me feel better – and it did, if only because it was a beautiful day; cold but sunny and lovely, with blossom coming out everywhere.

Then when I got back, randomly, I felt like baking so I made these:

I got an email from Baking Mad a couple of weeks ago, inviting me to enter a competition for Easter recipes on their site. And Easter seems as good an excuse as any for carrot cakes, plus I think these would make a nice change from the chocolate overload, so I re-made the carrot cupcakes (or should that be cupcarrotcakes) which I put in a guest post for Jemma last year:

Preheat oven to 180C and line a 12-hole tin with paper cases.

180g rice flour

150g carrot, grated

125g brown sugar

1 medium eating apple, cored and grated

Zest of one lemon

3tbsp rapeseed oil

2tbsp apple puree

1 large egg

1/2tsp ground mixed spice

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

Sieve the flour, baking powder and spice together into a large bowl, then stir in the sugar, carrot, apple and lemon zest and mix.  In a separate bowl, lightly beat the egg with the oil and apple puree. Pour the egg mixture into the dry ingredients and mix well. Spoon into the cases and bake for 18-20 minutes, until a skewer inserted comes out just about clean. Leave to cool.

To ice them, I used about 50g sieved icing sugar, mixed with enough lemon juice to form a paste. I got a bit trigger-happy on the lemon and it ended up too liquid, especially as I also added some pink food colouring… some confused thought about pastel colours for Easter was behind that, I think… but I’m not sure it worked 🙂

So I put some mini chocolate eggs on top. You can’t say they aren’t Easterish.

I like the Baking Mad site; it’s got a variety of recipes for different occasions (this banoffee layer pudding one is definitely on my list and I spotted some banoffee under the cupcake recipes tab too)

And talking of Easter, I’m looking forward to this week. Not only the two four-day work weeks and bonus double weekend in between – but it’s only six days until I can eat chocolate again. If I don’t post on Saturday or Sunday, not to worry; I’ll just be in a blissful sugar coma somewhere 🙂

Have a great week!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Slightly struggling

  1. Errign says:

    Just the thought of Jagerbombs made me shudder a little – Jager is still the only thing that’s ever made me throw up!

    Yummy looking cakes – I keep forgetting I’ve got a whole sachet of brown rice flour in my cupboard. Do you ever use white rice flour? On the Bob’s Red Mill site, there’s a recipe for white rice flour muffins that are somehow super amazing. They sort of taste like (US style) biscuits, but they’re yummy!

    • I’m not surprised they made you throw up *shudders at memory* – I think I’ll be steering clear in future!
      I use brown and white rice flour; the Doves Farm brand I use is a mix of both but I’ve used the different types separately… thank you for that, I’ll check the recipe out!

  2. Hahahaha we have all had those mornings 😉 (Although I still love me some Jagerbombs hahaha)

    This looks like a good recipe for recovery!

  3. I love the baking mad site, they got in touch with me about having a look and I’ve made some bread. Glad I wasn’t the only one suffering this weekend 😉

  4. Awww hope you are feeling better now. I know those mornings all too well. I really cannot handle my drink anymore.

  5. I think the blueberry sauce looks tasty!

  6. Weighting For 50 says:

    Ah, ha, ha….I haven’t had jagerbombs in a long time….but lets put it this way…I feel your pain. Take care!!!!

  7. Hannah says:

    Aw, poor lady! Hope the head pounding goes away soon. Oh, and I completely feel you about the weird sensitive teeth. I drink lukewarm tap water because even cold water, not from the fridge, hurts most of the time!

  8. Not going to lie. I’d go through that as well for the free champagne!

  9. Blueberries as sauce make an awesome pancake topping! Especially with a little sweetener and a little cornstarch/thickener–then it’s blueberry syrup! Yummmm. Okay, just distracted myself with thoughts of pancake deliciousness. Jealous of your easy week–enjoy it and all the sugar! I hope we get to see some more dessert baking/cooking projects!

    • There was a bit of maple syrup in there but adding thickener’s a brillliant idea; might try that on purpose next time… hope you got some pancake deliciousness in the end!
      And thank you, week over now and enjoying some sunshine 🙂

      • No pancakes for me…I have a stove, but it’s currently unplugged and shoved in a living room, which makes pancakes pretty difficult. I kinda want to invest in a griddle–it would be perfect for pancakes–and excuses for fruit syrups.

  10. Haahaa! Jagerbombs….nuff said! Is it bad to say that I’m looking forward to a nice glass of vino in December for my birthday?! 🙂

  11. Pingback: Sunshine and sambuca | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

