Strange times

Has anyone else had that post-clock-change disorientation this week?

There I was on Monday, driving along thinking happy thoughts to do with the fact there was bright sunshine at nearly 6.30pm, when I realised that I’d left the office at 6pm and spent over an hour in a meeting – and that I hadn’t put my car clock forward.

So there I was thinking even happier thoughts to do with its being sunny at nearly 7.30pm, which helped make up for the fact I was on my way to my second evening meeting, at a parish council in the middle of nowhere. The daylight also meant I found my way to a tiny village hall on a back road in said middle of nowhere. It had got dark by the time I left and I got spectacularly lost, of course, but still. Let’s look on the bright side (geddit?!)

Stranger still has been the beautiful summerlike weather but because it’s still March and so clear (did anyone see that Nasa map of the UK without a single cloud covering it?) it’s also been so cold first thing – going from frosty grass and about 0C at 7am to more like 20C in the afternoon – January to June within six hours πŸ™‚

You probably can’t see in the picture but that pond was really steaming the other morning, and with the frosty grass and bright sunshine, it was stunning. Almost worth getting up at 6am πŸ™‚

But because it’sΒ been feeling summeryΒ (and because I’ve still got ten days to go till I can eat chocolate) I’ve been well into this sort of thing for puddings:

The Yoo Moo strawbswirlmoo, which is a blend of creamy natural and strawberry frozen yoghurt, with strawberry sauce and dried strawberries was lovely… and the pot had a cool picture under the lid:

Something else that always feels like a summer food to me is coleslaw:

With butternut and a delicious aubergine burger – and the coleslaw was made with garlic mayonnaise, which could well be my new favourite thing…

But to make the most of the weather, we (all of editorial plus the online journalist) decamped en masse to the pub the other lunchtime. sitting in the sun with a Pimm’s? That’s always been a favourite thing – summer’s definitely on its way πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Strange times

  1. Alexandra says:

    Oooooh that yoomoo stuff sounds awesome! I’m diggin the lid cover too heehee πŸ˜‰

  2. Mmm that yoomoo sounds great! Plus I love the name of it haha
    Summer is on it’s way and I get soo so happy when I think about it πŸ™‚

  3. Ha! What a cute description on your yoomoo label.

  4. Hannah says:

    Ask me again on Sunday, after we’ve changed our clock back. (Winter’s coming, noooooooo! 😦 )

    Your broccoli is huge! And green.

    Yours,
    Captain States The Obvious.

  5. Yummmm that frozen yogurt looks good!

  6. Leigh says:

    Pimms = summer! I love that picture of the frosty grass it looks beautiful. I’ve had so many moment the past week where I’ve wanted to take a photo of how beautiful it is but I know I wont do it justice! Enjoy the rest of the sun πŸ™‚

  7. I know its so chilly first thing then really hot, I just hope it lasts! Pimms is summer in a glass isn’t it πŸ™‚

  8. I’m always a little fuzzy headed after the time change. Ours was a few weeks ago, so I’m as back on track as I can be! πŸ˜‰ Love the photo of the pond, so peaceful. I hadn’t seen the aubergine burger on Peas and Thank you. Thanks for sharing it. I love eggplant. Aubergine has always been one of my favorite words. Thought of naming a black cat that, only I never had a black cat. Am I rambling? I think I am…

    • Haha, not at all, but even if you were, I love a good ramble! Aubergine would be a great name for a black cat, or a black horse if I ever end up with one!
      And try the burgers, they’re fab, I make them with peanut butter instead of tahini and love them – they’re fine to be frozen too πŸ™‚

  9. Maria says:

    I have spent all week not having any idea of the day. On Tuesday I thought it was Wednesday, and today I keep thinking it is Friday. Not sure why I am so confused!
    I am loving that yoomoo stuff- I tried the blueberry stuff last night and it was lovely too, although it was topped with pumpkin seeds and I don’t really like crunchy things with ice cream/ frozen yoghurt. I see they do a tropical version too but have not seen it in the shops yet.

    • I saw that tropical version online but haven’t spotted it anywhere; I wanted to try the chocolate one at some point but it’s got brownie pieces in it so I can’t… I like the sound of the pumpkin seeds on top though πŸ™‚

  10. Errign says:

    That’s a cool picture of that pond!

    Also, I would like some of that froyo!

  11. When the time change first stared, I felt that I was eating lunch at dinnertime! My mind was telling me I was eating way to early, but my stomach sure wasn’t πŸ˜‰

    The yoomoo looks yummy! I especially love the little cow picture πŸ˜€

  12. I have been loving this weather on my week off- perfectly timed!

Thank you for commenting!

