With a spring in my step

Well, the rabbit training didn’t happen.

It turned out not enough people had signed up (how is that possible?!) so it’s been postponed till the end of April. Not impressed ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Instead, I went to a full council meeting on Wednesday. And it was so much fun!

Hmmph.

More positive is the fact that springย is most definitely here.

Hasn’t it been beautiful? So warm and still light enough, when I get to the yard in the evenings, to see the hundreds of daffodils everywhere and the blossom just starting to come out.

The birds are still singing their hearts out at almost 7pm… and THE CLOCKS GO FORWARD TONIGHT! Feeling the love for British Summer Time ๐Ÿ™‚

Another good thing this week was this:

I hadn’t made a cake for ages but it was a bloke at work’s 40th so it was about time. I wanted to make a coffee cake (I’m not selfless enough to make a chocolate cake when I’m not eating the stuff!) so I used this BBC recipe, deglutenised and undairified (both technological cooking terms, you know) and tweaked:

225g plainย flour (I used Doves Farm plain GF blend)

85g brown sugar

50g caster sugar

50g ground almonds

3tsp baking powder

1tbsp coffee, mixed with 1tsp warm water

2 eggs

250g plain soya yogurt

5tbsp rapeseed oil

Preheat oven to 180C and grease and line two 20cm loose-bottomed cake tins.

Mix the flour, baking powder, almonds and sugar together by hand till well blended, then make a well in the centre. Beat the egg and pour it into the well with the yoghurt, the coffee mixture and the oil then mix well with a wooden spoon till smooth.

Pour into the tins, smooth the tops and bake for 20-25 minutes, until an inserted skewer comes out clean.

I filled mine with cream cheese icing, with more coffee mixed as above added, and topped it with 50g of icing sugar blended with enough coffee mix to make a smooth paste. If I’d had walnuts, I’d have added some to the cake and put some on top. But as I didn’t, I didn’t ๐Ÿ™‚

It went down a treat at work. I think next time, I’d add a bit more coffee to the sponge and use a vanilla cream cheese buttercream to fill, as a contrast and similarly, use this chocolate icing to top it because that would take it to a whole new level. But it was delicious and had a greatย texture. So moist (sorry), thanks to the yoghurt and, in contrast to a lot of gluten-free cakes, it rose really well.

And there’s lots of possibilities for this cake too… as soon as Lent endeth, a chocolate version of this cometh. Ain’t no doubt about that ๐Ÿ™‚

Don’t forget about the clocks tonight… and it’s supposed to be another beautiful day tomorrow! What are your favourite signs of spring?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to With a spring in my step

  1. This coffee cake looks super divine! It is so soft and moist (and I know exactly what you mean, chocolate cake = for home purposes only ;))
    Love your spring pics!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  2. Alexandra says:

    That flower blossom is BEAUTIFUL!! And not to mention that cake ๐Ÿ˜‰ can I come over for a slice??

    • I loved the way it was such a tiny tree; less than four foot tall, but with the almost full-size pink blossoms, so lovely.
      And of course, I’ll save you a slice and see you in a few hours ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Best thing about spring? The weather, oh the weather. I don’t mind sun, rain, fog, as long as it’s above freezing.

    The cake looks fab as always – I had forgotten it was still Lent! Good thing I’m an atheist, really ๐Ÿ˜‰

    xxx

    • Oh yes, not having to wrap up in 50+ layers is such an instant mood-lifter, whatever else is going on!
      And thank you, although I’m not religious either, just got cornered into it… I might give up housework or something next year instead ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. cottercrunch says:

    this is such a spring cake. Light, sweet, and full of energy!

  5. The cake looks wonderful and yes, Spring is wonderful as well. If it would get a bit sunny her in New Jersey, I’d take some photos of the flowering trees. Maybe today will be sunny!

  6. I’ve been enjoying the sun, the birds, and the tulips! I just really hope we don’t get an April snowstorm.

  7. That cake looks so professional! Excellent work ๐Ÿ™‚ Flowers are definitely my favorite part about spring.. the colors make me so so happy

  8. That cake looks amazing! Yey for British summertime, the clocks going forward knocked me off a bit this morning but I just love this time of year!

  9. Maria says:

    That cake looks fantastic, although I thought it was a lemon one- must be my screen! I love that Spring is finally here- I love seeing the daffodils, and all the birds singing, and the buds appearing on all the trees, and the warmer days, and the lighter evenings! I love it all!
    Oh, and I can’t believe the rabbit thing was postponed- I would have come if I lived nearer!

    • Thank you, it does look lemony now you mention it… I bet a lemon version would be great too and your description of spring’s perfect; just about sums up my feelings about it; I love it all ๐Ÿ™‚
      I was gutted too about the agility, just fingers crossed more people are interested by next time, thank you!

  10. Hannah says:

    Gorgeous gorgeous photos! And a simple sweet cake would be so lovely right now…

  11. Oh that cake looks way too good! Want to come bake me a cake? ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I love all the flower pictures! We have tons of daffodils popping up here too! I’m pretty sure that spring is my favorite season – so many pretty colors ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thank you, I’ll pop round and whip one up for you any time ๐Ÿ˜‰
      And daffodils and crocuses are so lovely. I love late spring/early summer in the countryside but there’s nothing like hundreds of daffodils after a long winter to make me smile!

  12. What a yummy looking cake! Great color.

  13. I’m loving all of this sunshine- this time of year is great! Your cake looks delicious! ๐Ÿ˜€

  14. What?? Who could turn down a rabbit class? Craziness. I’d totally sign up. You know, if I wasn’t in a different country. The cake looks tasty–you have lucky coworkers!

  15. Yum – I love coffee cake!
    Shame about the rabbit thing – I was dying to hear how it went ๐Ÿ™‚

  16. Jan Scott says:

    Hmmm, yum that cake looks divine!

  17. Pingback: Cake, compliment and a challenge | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

