Shake it out

I’m still playing that Florence + the Machine song – a lot πŸ™‚

I was going to put “Shake it Up (Baby)” as a title, in relation to the inspired creativity that’s been going on in my house this week.

No longer am I the person that eats carrot porridge every day for breakfast. Oh no.

Take this for example:

Baked carrot porridge. I’m sure you’ll agree, it takes a genius to make such a tremendous and imaginative leap. Innit πŸ™‚

For that, I just used my normal amounts of oats and water, stirred in finely grated carrot, mixed spice and some ground flaxseed and baked at 190C for about half an hour. And it was lovely; like eating a (flat) piece of carrot cake for breakfast.

I then tried this:

A breakfast bake, made from 45g buckwheat pancake mix (or I’m sure buckwheat flour would work) with 60g finely grated carrot, 2tbsp apple puree, 2tbsp milk, 1tsp flaxseed in 1tbsp warm water and 1/4 tsp each mixed spice and baking powder, mixed well and baked at 185C for 30 minutes. Topped with the usual maple syrup and blueberries, this was lovely; I haven’t had a bake like that for far too long. Again though, what an amazing mental leap πŸ™‚

And yes, I did balance that blueberry back on top especially…. πŸ™‚

Dinner last night was also a couple of adaptations.

I love a good cauliflower risotto; I always saute the grated cauliflower with mushrooms and tomato, then add spinach, pesto and cheese and it’s delicious. But I hadn’t had it plain for ages, till I saw Kelly had, which reminded me how good it is on its own.

So while my grated cauliflower was cooking in its vegetable stock, I made a lazy mushroom stroganoff (type thang) to go on top.

I took 150g mushrooms, sliced them and sauted them with a good sprinkle of garlic salt (love it!)Β in a saucepan till browned, then added a splash of stock to stop them sticking and let them simmer happily away.

When the cauliflower was ready, I stirred 1tbsp nutritional yeast and 1tsp cashew butter into it.Β In a separate bowl, I’d mixedΒ 2tbsp plain soya yoghurt, 2tsp red pepper pesto and another 1tbsp nutritional yeast, which I stirred into the mushrooms, having drained off any remaining liquid… then poured the resulting creamy stroganoff-esque creation on to the cauliflower.

And all I can say is mmmmmmm πŸ™‚

The cauliflower was so fluffy and the cashew butter made it rich and creamy and the mushroom sauce on top went perfectly – this is definitely one to remember… I’m submitting it to Ricki’s Wellness Weekend too, as it’s vegan, gluten-free and delicious!

Of course, I added the usual pile of steamed veg after the picture was taken – I hadn’t shaken it up, out or indeed anywhere else quite that much πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Shake it out

  1. Alexandra says:

    Love that song and love the daring little balancing blueberry on your breakfast bake heehee πŸ˜‰ All of these eats look so good!

  2. Maria says:

    Love the balanced blueberry! πŸ™‚

  3. Adding nut but to savory recipes is still something I need to try. The furthest I’ve gone is adding it to sweet potatoes!

    • I know what you mean; the thought of adding almond or coconut just seems wrong… but cashew and peanut, both of which I’ve tried in different things, have been great!
      I need to try the sweet potato thing though, that’s the one I haven’t had πŸ™‚

  4. Wow, this all looks soooooo good! Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. MM the breakfast bake looks pretty awesome daery πŸ™‚ Love that song during this whole thing too haha

  6. Both dishes look delicious!

  7. Your dinner looks delicious. I love cauliflower – I think it’s a very underrated vegetable, but I’ve never tried it cooked like that. I particularly like the idea of making a risotto out of it.

    • It’s lovely and it’s amazing how soft and fluffy it goes. If you start by sauteing it for a couple of minutes, then have vegetable broth on hand, just add a bit at a time to allow it to absorb… hope you like it if you try!

  8. Wow – breakfast and dinner look delicious! I need to try a vegan risotto soon!

  9. You’ve reminded me that I need more cauliflower in my life. Especially if it’s topped with mushroom-gravy-ish goodness. And I “shake up” my daily oatmeal by sometimes baking it–or making microwave “bakes”–instead. I totally think it counts as a different breakfast ;D

    • Ha, glad to hear it! Variety is the spice of life and all that πŸ™‚
      And I hadn’t realised how much cauliflower I needed in my life; I’ve had it in some form or other every night since then!

  10. Loving the breakfast bake! I have had florence + the machine’s new album on constant repeat since christmas! It’s so good!

  11. Everything looks delicious, especially the cauliflower! You’re making me hungry because I haven’t had breakfast yet! Have a great Sunday!

  12. Hannah says:

    That looks like the most DELICIOUS PILE OF BROWN IN THE WORLD. And I mean that completely, completely seriously.

  13. hehee! i’m totally like you in that i listen to the same song again and again…and again! Currently…Birdy. “Skinny Love” Love it πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Cor blimey Gov’nor | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

