Pantastic

I sent my mum a picture from my phone yesterday.

I knew she’d like it as much as I did, even though my phone couldn’t capture how lovely the thick frost looked on the yellow petals:

Unfortunately, owing to my phone’s predictive text, the email with it said “I’m sending you a picture of a frosty croat”.

Nothing wrong with chilly Slavs, of course, but I think it might have surprised her a bit πŸ™‚

But moving on from Croats, crocuses and the like, today was of course Pancake Day.

I wasn’t as committed to the cause as I was last year, having considered making some for breakfast last night and deciding I couldn’t be bothered. Such lack of dedication.

I did make some for dinner though:

That ugly-looking pile may not be instantly,Β  or even at all, recognisable as pancakes but take my word for it. Buckwheat mix, chopped wilted spinach and garlic powder, pancaked and topped with sauted mushroom and leek and a dollop of vegan cheezy sauce.

Given that I love pancakes, spinach and said sauce, it was a fair bet that these would go down well πŸ™‚

They were great and I’ve now got loads of ideas for other savoury pancakes. Did you have pancakes today? And are you giving anything up for Lent?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Pantastic

  1. Alexandra says:

    Ooh I like the idea of savory pancakes! I’ll have to give that a try one of these days. And yay for the cute little flower peeking out from the frost! Hurry up spring, we know you’re out there haha! πŸ˜€

    • They were lovely; spinach and cheese is always a winner in my book!And the crocus (or was it a Croat?!) was lovely, it was just a shame I didn’t have my proper camera because the pphone didn’t do it justice!

  2. Leigh says:

    Yay flowers!! Can’t wait to see more about. I had 6 pancakes, not bad at all! I quite fancy savoury pancakes, but not like my housemates who dump stew on theirs. Yuck! I’m not sure about lent, I might give something non-food related up but am not sure what yet. Giving up facebook would do me good! Are you giving anything up?

    • I’ve seen more crocuses and daffodils-and even a primrose this week… nearly there!
      I don’t know if I’d fancy stew on pancakes either but these were lovely.
      And yeah, I’ve given up chocolate but I was cornered into it! Something not food sounds a good idea, I should give up the internet next year- or maybe not πŸ™‚

  3. Hannah says:

    Haven’t had pancakes in probably a decade, but I like the sound of savoury deliciousness! I’d prefer a hot, say, German myself… πŸ˜›

  4. Haha sometimes it’s the ugly/unrecognizable food that tastes the best!!!

  5. I love the first signs of Spring. I’m so ready for the warmer weather.

  6. I think next year I might have to go with savoury pancakes! I made chocolate ones with pear and chocolate hazelnut butter sauce and they were so good! Can’t wait for spring, looking like the weekend’s going to be a warm one!

  7. Maria says:

    The frost does look very pretty indeed. I used to love pancakes with cucumber and cream cheese- and my Dad makes them, fills with veggies and tomato, then bakes in the oven- very tasty.

  8. Those pancakes sound delicious! I didn’t have any unfortunately because I’m so bad at making them – I think that I just have a mental block.
    The flowers in the frost are so pretty – all the early flowers are really lifting my mood at the moment πŸ™‚

    • I’m sure you could but I know what you mean about mental blocks… I’ll send you some of these:-)
      And I’m loving the daffodils, crocuses, snowdrops etc everywhere, it really does make you feel better!

  9. Buckwheat/spinach pancakes for dinner??? As if your pancakes don’t always sound amazing enough as-is. I want! And I did not know yesterday was pancake tuesday, but I had socca with my dinner which is almost like a chickpea pancake…if pancakes and flatbread can be loosely categorized together. Just means I need a big pancake day this weekend! Or some buckwheat pancakes for dinner sooner than that…

    • Ha, thank you! They were lovely, might have to make them again!
      And yeah, that sounds like pancakes to me, but I hope you did go all-out this weekend with pancaking; it would have ben rude not too, after all….:-)

      • I didn’t end up making pancakes, but I DID make a huge batch of scones, so those were my breakfast-splurge for the weekend. They were good, but they were no soft, fluffy pancake deliciousness.

  10. I like savory pancakes, they are really good for dinner πŸ™‚ also, your blog name is a good one, love it! πŸ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

