In the pink

I won’t say it’s felt like spring this week – because last time I did that, we got snow soon afterwards.

But it was amazing how quickly it all went; there was still about a four-inch layer in some places on Monday evening but by Tuesday evening, all gone ๐Ÿ™‚

And although I’m not going to mention spring, it was lovely to see this:

This wasย even better:

It’s been nice to cycle to do the horses in the morning without needing my bike lights, it’s been nice not to have to wear so many clothes it’s hard to move.

It was nice to go out for a few drinks for a friend’s birthday last night and it was nice to have a lie-in this morning.

Warning. More beetroot is coming your way ๐Ÿ™‚

I gave my mum some of the Valentine’s beetroot cookies and she really liked them – but there’s still a lot of it in the fridge. So as I had pancake-making time this morning, I made these:

Beetroot and apple pancakes

50g Orgran buckwheat pancake mix (or buckwheat flour with baking powder)

20g beetroot, very finely grated

Half an apple, coarsely grated

2tbsp egg white

1tbsp milk/water

1/4tsp ground mixed spice.

Mix all together till very well combined and cook over a low heat. As is standard, I had mine with maple syrup and fresh blueberries:

I have to say I prefer the carrot pancakes but I think the beetroot/apple combination is a good one. I used half an apple because the other half was bruised and horrible but I think using a whole one would be good, as would maybe using a tablespoon of apple puree instead of the water… but my quest to not dislike beetroot with a passion is still on course. Just about ๐Ÿ™‚

And of course,ย although I didn’t even thinking about mentioning that it felt likeย spring at the start of this post, which I wrote this morning, we had howling winds and horizontal rain all afternoon. Nice.

Have you seen any signs of spring yet?

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to In the pink

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    It’s been mild all week here too…I took a deep breath, crossed my fingers…and then it started hailing and freezing over outside tonight. How the weather toys with out emotions, eh?

    I don’t think I’ll fully consider it ‘spring’ until sometime around July ๐Ÿ˜‰
    xxx

    • It does have such an effect doesn’t it? and so changeable at the moment; -7C yesterday morning to 8C at 6pm tonight, mental! I’m with you on waiting till I’ve shed a good few more layers before I really believe spring’s here ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Beetroot pancakes? That’s so cool!

    It’s been spring here all winter with the exception of a few 30* days…

  3. Well I’m sure they said on this mornings weather that the rest of the week was going to be very mild thank goodness! I am so ready from spring, I can feel it in my bones! Those pancakes look well nice ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Interesting recipe! I like the color of them ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s been such a mild winter here (new england) and while I don’t like the cold.. the very warm temps are freaking me out a bit!

    • I love the colour beetroot gives things, I think that’s it’s best feature!
      I agree in that the mild weather here till recently did freak me out a bit… but I was quite happy without the cold!

  5. I think you’re going to beat beetroot into my cuisine! Ha! These pancakes look yummy.

  6. Hannah says:

    Nooooo! Spring for you means cold for me! I can’t bear it! Pout.

  7. Leigh says:

    I thought the pancakes were burgers when I saw the picture of them cooking! It was light when I left work yesterday, a definite sign that spring is on the way. I’m not sure why but this year I’m even more excited for spring, might be the very cold student house we have this year!

  8. Maria says:

    I saw loads of crocus’ (croci?) yesterday- they look so pretty when they start popping up everywhere. The weather said that by the end of this week it could get up to 18 ๐Ÿ™‚ A lovely shock to the system that would be!

  9. I adore Spring and cannot wait for it arrive. Those pancakes look lovely!

  10. Errign says:

    It’s actually been pleasantly warm here, around 40 degrees F, which is warm enough for the snow to not melt so I can still ski, but not be freezing ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Beetroot and apple is an amazing combination – I can imagine that it made a tasty pancake. The snowdrops have been gorgeous this weekend – I can’t wait for spring ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Hey! I just saw this and instantly thought of your quest to not hate beet – please try it and tell me how it went! – Im not so brave when and you’ve go all those beets in your kitchen ๐Ÿ˜‰ http://www.theppk.com/2012/02/quarter-pounder-beet-burger/

Thank you for commenting!

