Mrs Beet-on

As I said in my last post, I’m consistent.

Which is why I posted about not being too keen on Valentine’s Day this time last year. Single or not, I’ve never been too keen.

But yesterday, my mum texted to say she had some “Valentine’s possibilities” for me. I was intrigued… and then I saw she’d bought me these: (thanks Mum!)

Definitely Valentine’s possibilities! But what sort of cookies to make?

Putting the need for roll-out dough together with the surplus of beetroot at my dad’s, (come on, don’t try to pretend beetroot isn’t the first thing that springs to mind when you think of making cookies) I made these:

With inspiration from my carrot cake cookies.

60g brown sugar or coconut sugar

2tbsp coconut oil

2tbsp milk

1/2tbsp beetroot juice

75g oat flour (I ground 75g whole oats)

15g cornflour

35g sorghum flour

35g beetroot, very finely grated (use the tiny holes on the grater)

1/4 tsp baking powder

Heaped 1/4 tsp ground mixed spice

1/2 tsp vanilla

Grate the beetroot, then squeeze the juice out into a bowl. I guarantee that while the juice is running through your fingers, either the phone or the doorbell will ring. Have fun explaining 🙂

Mix together the oil, sugar, beetroot juice and vanilla till well combined. (Keep the rest of the beetroot juice in the bowl for later). Sieve the flours, spice and baking powder together and mix really well, then fold in the beetroot. Bring together as a ball, wrap and chill for 30-45 minutes.

Preheat oven to 175C. Roll the dough out on a floured surface, and with a floured rolling pin, to about 1/8″ thick, cut out shapes and transfer to a lined baking sheet. Bake for seven minutes and leave to cool and harden on the sheet.

They lose the gorgeous colour once they’re cooked, of course… but they still look good.

Being childish and arranging them in different ways is not optional.

Once they’re cooled, you’ve got a use for the rest of the beetroot juice. It doesn’t take much to colour your icing (I just used sieved icing sugar and enough lemon juice to make a paste, then added a couple of drops of beetroot juice to get different shades).

For a sugar-free topping on some, I used coconut butter, a bit of lemon juice with it would be great too, I reckon!

Sad though it is to admit, I’m quite pleased with them 🙂 they taste great too; I love the way the very slight earthy beetroot flavour actually works really well with the spice, I like the way you can taste the oat flour – and I  love the lemon icing on the soft cookies.

(I’m also quite pleased that it went from -7C this morning to 2C by 5pm… I can see patches of grass instead of evil whiteness, I even cycled to the yard for the first time in a fortnight AND got too hot… not long now!)

Before I go, I’ve mentioned a lot about my congenital lateness and this recipe proves it again. I saw Fork and Beans’ Valentine’s bake-off competition a couple of weeks ago, for baked goods that were vegan, gluten-free, etc and as this one’s also egg-free, soya-free and just about everything else-free, I thought I’d enter it – but of course, submissions closed last week 😦

Keep an eye on Cara’s blog though, because it looks like some delicious treats have been entered, in time for February 14!

EDIT: I’m linking this to brilliant Ricki’s Wellness Weekend; check out the other great vegan, GF goodies on offer 🙂

What’s your take on Valentine’s Day?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Mrs Beet-on

  1. Maria says:

    They are so pretty- and I love the idea of using the beetroot juice to colour the icing too. Fab.
    I don’t “do” valentines day- I think it is all a bit cheesy, too much marketing, and I would rather celebrate an anniversary. Not that I am bah humbug or anything, just not for me.

    • I completely agree with you. I hate the thought of going for dinner as a couple, surrounded by other couples, and I don’t like the mass-marketing pressure on people to do more… not good!

  2. Those cookies look so cute! I’m not that big on valentines day, like Maria I find it a bit cheesy and over the top. James did buy me some little heart shaped chocolates so I was at least happy with those!

  3. Those cookies look adorable. We never celebrate Valentine’s day as our anniversary of the following month.

  4. Those cookies look really pretty, and the recipe is quite unusual with the grated beet.
    I ignore Valentine’s Day and I have never received or sent a card despite having been in a relationship for 6 years (that might be sad!)

    • No, I think that’s much the best approach! I remember getting some cheap flowers from my ex on a random day once and they meant so much more than the roses he felt he had to buy on Valentine’s Day!
      And thank you, I liked the texture of the cookies too 🙂

  5. I love the heart shaped cookies!

  6. Errign says:

    I don’t really have a feeling on Valentine’s Day one way or another. I’ve never had a *fantastic* Valentine’s Day while dating, but I don’t cry myself to sleep on the ones that I’m single either.

  7. Those cookie cutters are so cute! And the biscuits look delicious 🙂

    I’ve never been in a relationship on valentines (woe is me etc etc!) but I think if I had been, I’d enjoy it. I know it’s a very commercial holiday, but it’s a nice excuse to be coupley 🙂

    • Thank you!
      I see what you mean about it being a good excuse to do coupley things, it’s just the pressure to spend lots of money, etc that I really don’t like… I saw Asda had a value card for 7p this year though, I’d have bought that if I’d been with someone!

  8. kel says:

    certainly like your website but you need to test the spelling on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues and I to find it very bothersome to inform the reality however I will surely come back again.

  9. Pingback: Keeping Mum | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

