Keeping out the cold

Well, the snow hadn’t all gone by Monday evening – as proved by the fact it’s STILL THERE!

It’s quite entertaining in hindsight because Monday was so much milder than is usual the day after a snowfall, I thought we’d have a mild week. I even planned to cycle to do the horses on Tuesday morning but a noselength out of the back door was enough to put the brakes on that plan, as demonstrated by my dashboard a couple of minutes later.

Dear lord above, -12C?! And the external thermometer at the yard made it -13 – and it was MINUS SIXTEEN last night. Seriously, not a happy bunny πŸ™‚

So please appreciate my courageousness for taking my gloves off to take these pictures:

I quite liked that line of footprints πŸ™‚

Sadly, my phone couldn’t quite capture the low mist. -13C or not, it was stunning.

I’m going to blame the cold weather for the fact I’ve been eating for England this week. Conveniently forgetting that I always do, of course.

Because it’s barely been struggling above freezing (even at 6pm today, my car said -6C) I’ve wanted warming, filling meals. Like this:

It takes a while to make but that lentil loaf is so filling, great for a cold evening. What I also find entertaining is the fact that recipe’s on a post called “I’m (not) dreaming of a white Christmas”. At least I’m consistent.

And although I can blame the cold for wanting to eat a lot, I’m not sure I can blame it for my current cravings for ice cream. Consistent I may be, but surely that’s just weird πŸ™‚

What’s your favourite comfort winter dinner?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Keeping out the cold

  1. Indeed, if you are in the UK that certainly is perishingly cold but not as bad as parts of Southeast Europe. This is a scary amount of snow – http://iceagenow.inf…ers-snow-video/

    Kind Regards

    Tony Powell

  2. It was cold today where I was too, but I’m not too disappointed because we have had an AMAZING winter so far. I definitely like warmer foods on colder days too though πŸ™‚

  3. I like the photo with the footprints. I wish the snow would stay around Chicago for more than a day.

  4. Brrrr! flippin freezing!!!! hate it!!!

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Who are you and what have you done with Eleanor? You just called snow ‘stunning.’ How could you…I feel so betrayed πŸ˜›

    Sorry. Lentilly things are very good for keeping tummies warm – I hope the equine friends aren’t too chilly in this and are wrapped up warm too πŸ™‚

    xxx

    • I grovel at your feet – that is indeed a hideous betrayal πŸ˜‰
      What’s entertaining is, as i wrote that sentence about being stunning, I meant to add “but I’d rather it was just in a picture” or some such similar – and forgot! Does that redeem it slightly…?! πŸ™‚

  6. I can’t believe how cold it has been, I have never been so cold as I was this week! For me it has to be a big plate or bowl of chilli!

    • I don’t know whether this week was winter’s way of getting the average temperatures down a bit but I agree, I’ve never been so cold! That hour at the yeard on Tuesday morning when it was -12C was one of the most miserable I’ve spent for a long time 😦
      Chilli sounds a great choice.

  7. Maria says:

    Woah that is cold! My parents have a thermometer at their house and I love seeing the temp, I don’t even have it in my car though so I have to rely on the news, or when Andy gets home (his car has it) but I am sure we never got to -13! Freezing. Although very pretty
    I had some frozen yoghurt last night weirdly! Although I did have a lentil chilli thing first so I was warm from that.

    • I always like checking it out too – the news and forecasts never get it right when it’s that cold though, that was mad!
      Glad it’s not just me that’s been loving the frozen puddings too πŸ™‚

  8. Those photos are stunning, despite the fact the snow is a right royal pain in the backside. It’s 98% gone in Leeds now thanks to the milder weather today.
    I love eating stews and soups all year round, but they’re extra satisfying when it’s very cold. I’ve been eating a lot of chocolate recently – typical comfort eating!

  9. Love these pictures lady, they are gorgeous! Warm food is definitely desirable in weather like this… soup and a pressed sandwich is perfect if you ask me πŸ™‚

  10. Your fotos are beautiful! Stay warm. Maybe it’s a good excuse to buy new clothes πŸ™‚

Thank you for commenting!

