I said no thank you!

However much I practised the art of snow denial last night… however much I closed all the curtains and pretended it wasn’t going to happen..

The forecast dumpload had been dumped. I closed the curtainsย pretty smartish.

And made pancakes – again.

And when I opened the curtains – again – it was still there ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I walked up to the yard, which was ok on the road, but then I cut across some fields… when I got to this bit, which led to open fields and a slight upwards slope, it was MUCH harder going.

Despite the ridiculous number of layers I had on, I was roasting by the time I got up there.

Then there wasย much heaving around of hay and full buckets of waterย (the tap has been frozen for days) which at least gives you a great all round workout ๐Ÿ™‚

When I got back home,I realised that as it’s likely to be freezing solid as we speak, I’d better get the car dug out if I’ve got any chance of getting to work tomorrow. It took a LONG time.

I made more cookies to cheer myself up.

It’s not as if I’ve been making copious numbers of cookies every Sunday recently or anything… it’s all just because of the snow ๐Ÿ™‚

My friend said she’d heard it was all going to have gone by tomorrow night… everything crossed! Everything. Hope you’re keeping warm!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to I said no thank you!

  1. Snow is fabulous! There is a layer of snow here in Stockholm that doesn’t seem to be going anywhere anytime soon. I’m embracing it ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    The commenter above me is clearly insane ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I could never live in a country even colder than this one! You must be exhausted having traipsed through that evil stuff for so long. I was a wuss and stuck to the treadmill – didn’t fancy running in it. Someone at the gym kept repeating that it would be +8 on Tuesday. I think she was trying to stop me from dropping my squat weight bar on my head in Body Pump as a a means of just ending it all now. It would be like Wile e Coyote with one of those huge ACME weights. No more snow for me.

    I could just fancy some gingery cookies in this weather for some reason. I like the nod to summer with the blueberries on your pancakes!

    Stay warm โค

    xxx

    • Haha – this made me chuckle. I’m not sure death by weight bar is the way to go …

      • It made me laugh out loud too, I can just picture the scene! I think that slow repeating of “it will warm up” is a technique people I know use on me too ๐Ÿ™‚
        And I’d like to blame the weather but I’ve been shovelling down loads of cookies every day for weeks! And blueberries, courtesy of my lovely mum who keeps buying them for me, bless her. xx

  3. Alexandra says:

    WOW! You guys got hammered with snow! I’m not a huge fan of being in it, although I love looking at it in pictures haha
    Keep warm friend!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Phew you certainly did get a whole lot of snow! I am a fan when it is coming down and looks all pretty and such… but then dealing with it ummm sucks! haha
    Stay warm and cozy!

  5. The snow looks beautiful. We’ve had such a mild winter in Wisconsin and have not been able to use our new snow shoes, go out on the lakes (they are not even remotely frozen), or ski. Oh well…makes getting around much easier!

    • We’ve had a really mild one up till now too, just as we thought it was all over! Maybe that means you’re in for some too so will be able to get out on those lakes… I’d love to go to Wisconsin, it looks beautiful – and I always remember it from the Laura Ingalls Wilder books ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Leigh says:

    Urgh snow. I’ll admit it looks pretty, but that’s about it. Compared to the rest of the UK it’s tropical in Chester at the moment! It never really snows here. Hope you manage to get to work today safe and sound!

  7. Maria says:

    Such pretty pictures. I love the snow, but really I wish we had it for one day (or 2 max) and then it would all go. I hate the days that follow with the freezing slush/ ice, and when it goes all brown and dirty.

  8. It does look so pretty but its just so inconvenient! I’m more concerned about driving from Newcastle to Brighton this evening and coming across black ice – boo!

  9. Such beautiful snow pics! ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. Errign says:

    I love snow, but I can understand the dislike if you’re not used to it – beautiful photos though ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I’m not a fan of the white stuff. It’s all slushy in Leeds now, which is actually pretty deathly and will be even worse when it freezes tomorrow :S

  12. Lolablogger says:

    Our snow came and went and it’s already much warmer. I used to like the slippery stuff, but after the past couple of years I’ve had enough for a while.

    • I like the word “went” when it comes to snow ๐Ÿ™‚
      It’s starting to think about melting here too, hopefully that’s it – the last couple of years have definitely been enough!

  13. WHOA!! That’s crazy!! It’s 60+ here!

  14. Snow and cookies go hand in hand! I just tagged you on some goofy blog quiz, if you’re so inclined. ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. But…but it’s so pretty! I’m no fan of cold, but a good blanket of snow? Great excuse for cookies and hot drinks!

    • It is….. butbutbut it’s FREEZING! Urgh, not a fan – as you might have guessed ๐Ÿ™‚
      But yes, lots of cookies, lots of hot drinks, the silver lining…!

      • Yeah, I share your cold hatred…but I’ll take snowy over 40 and drizzling (yeah, that’s the gross weather here) any day–at least there’s something to look at out the window while sipping hot (spiked?) cocoa ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to spend a few days in hot and tropical!

  16. Wow! I can’t believe there is that much snow!!!! It’s been such a warm winter here, it’s weird!

  17. Snnnoooowwww! Wow, that is A LOT. It’s a really nice winter here in Michigan ๐Ÿ˜›

    Whitney

  18. We got snow too, but its starting to melt again! It’s SO cold here in Germany and I am so ready for the Spring and Summer!
    Pancakes and cookies are a great way to cheer up!

Thank you for commenting!

