No thank you

I woke up to this this morning:

Actually, that’s not strictly true. A) because I’d stayed at a friend’s 20-odd miles away so that wasn’t the view and B) it wasn’t that much 🙂

But it was a couple of inches; enough to A) make me swear a lot and B) make an interesting first half of the journey home  – where not a flake had fallen. There’s no room for complacency though, as every forecast is predicting a dumpload of the evil stuff tonight. That’s the technological meteorological term, I believe.

And snow or no snow, it wasn’t pleasant to see this on my car dashboard at 7am yesterday:

That’ll teach me for trumpeting about how it felt like spring the other weekend 🙂

I’ve been making slightly more of an effort with cooking this week, like this:

I hadn’t cooked meat for ages but thanks to some Asda offers on diced turkey breast and a howge box of mushrooms, plus a sudden compulsion, I made a massive stir-fry on Thursday night. I included onions, real garlic (I’ve been lazily relying on the granules for ages but the real McCoy is so much better!) peppers, mushrooms and vegetable stock powder and it was delicious. It made four helpings too, which is always a result.

Said box of mushrooms also meant I had enough to make more of this soup:

If ever there were such a thing as soup weather, this is it – and I love that one, even if I do say so myself. I did mean to enter it for Covent Garden’s soup of the month competition too – about which they emailed me a while ago but I forgot! – but then saw that this month’s theme is flavours of the world coming together in London. I’m not entirely sure leek and mushroom qualifies 🙂

But the competition looks great and as it doesn’t seem as if it’s going to warm up around here any time soon, I’ll just have to get creative.

Have you had any snow?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to No thank you

  1. Lolablogger says:

    Not yet, but it’s forecast for tonight!

  2. Alexandra says:

    DANG I think I would die in that weather!! At least you have some yummy warm food to help you make it through the cold!

  3. ~Jessica~ says:

    Bleh, it’s snowing here now. Time to break out the fist I like to shake at the sky :/ Seriously, this snow can get lost – it toyed with us for ages and just when we think we’re out of the woods because it’s Feb, BOOM. Massive blizzard of snow. If I moved to Florida the damn stuff would probably follow me there too…

    xxx

    • I knew we’d be on the same wavelength on this one! That’s exactly how I’ve been feeling; that we’d got away without any this year and then bam! Hmmph not impressed; keep warm 🙂 x

  4. Maria says:

    No snow yet but it is forecast for tonight I think. Andy does not want it because he does not want the football match to be called off! Me, I am not going anywhere anyway so don’t mind. I meant to enter the soup of the month thing too, but I think they run it every month, so maybe next month.

    • Hee hee, Charlton’s game was called off too, not impressed! I think it is tonight we’re supposed to get it all, everything crossed 🙂
      And they do do it every month, I’ll have to get organised!

  5. Hannah says:

    Ick ick ick, evil snow! But at least the cold makes comforting warm foods like this taste spectacular 🙂

    P.S. Gosh, I didn’t even know people ever used garlic granules in cooking! Wow!

  6. foodiefiasco says:

    I’m sorry you’re habing bad weather, but at least you’re heading out to LA to visit! 😉

  7. Oh yes the snow has fallen here, its not too bad but I hope it stays away for my drive to Brighton tomorrow!

  8. Nothing beats soup in the cold weather. I haven’t actually made any yet this year. I need to get to it!

  9. That soup look delicious! I love making soup – it was actually my project for GCSE food tech.
    I hope the snow melts soon – I can’t be bothered with it!

  10. We’ve barely had any snow here in Chicago. =(

Thank you for commenting!

