Highs and lows

You could say that today’s not been a bad day.

But before that, as a snippet of the weirdness that is my life, there was yesterday.

I had a council meeting after work. Not a good start, especially as I’d been working till 10pm on Tuesday but I knew it would make a good story. I left work, went to get Inka in, then drove back towards work for the meeting.

On the way, in the dark and in the middle of nowhere, I saw first a car with its hazard lights on, then a horse standing by the side of the road. I stopped, put my own hazards on and went to catch it… but then what? There I was, in my high-heeled work shoes, standing on a muddy grass verge holding a horse I couldn’t lead anywhere because its headcollar was just a dirty bit of plastic tape twisted round its nose.

Eventually, the man in the other car drove off and tracked down its owners. And apart from a very hairy moment when an approaching car decided to ignore my huge “slow down” arm movements, braking at the last minute and so, so nearly taking out horse and owner (serious heart-in-mouth moment) it was all fine.

I got to the meeting, lat but in time for the item I wanted to cover, only to find when they got there that for various legal reasons, more than half of the councillors had to leave the room and the number left was inquorate, ie they were too few legally to be able to discuss it… so I didn’t even get a story out of it! Not impressed ๐Ÿ™‚

But today… much better. Not only was it Friday but it was only half a Friday, to do with this lot:

That T-shirt and those beers were in a goodie bag given out to everyone at the Kent Journalist of the Year awards lunch this afternoon. It’s sponsored by brewers Shepherd Neame, held at their factory and involves a free lunch and free beer… so it really is a piss-up in a brewery ๐Ÿ™‚

All the reporters from work had entered, as we always do. It’s the only Kent journalism awards and it covers TV, radio and all the local newspapers so everyone in the local industry enters, pretty much.

But…….

I couldn’t believe it!

I’d entered a winter appeal I’d done last year for a localย charity which works with homeless and vulnerable people. I asked people to donated food, clothes and toiletries and our readers responded in droves. It was so humbling, especially as I heard people had been walking in off the street and giving the centre money. I helped at their soup kitchen one night to write a piece, went to their winter homeless centre and convinced a new Sainsbury’s in the town to donate all their unsellable but within-date food to them too…

Without wanting to blow my own trumpet, the judges don’t give highly commended awards out lightly; there isn’t always one in every category, so I was really pleased – so nerve-wracking when the head judge read my name out and I had to get up in front of everyone – but at least I didn’t fall up the stairs to the stage… always a bonus ๐Ÿ™‚

It makes working a silly number of evenings lately much more worth it… even if I couldn’t take the crate of beer I won, as it’s got barley in it – at least the boys at work gave it a good home!

The other bonus was aย great lunch, of salmon, new potatoes, coleslaw, salad and fruit, followed by the most delicious chocolate ganache on cheesecake base mini slices… I took no prisoners but I’ve still got these, which my mum gave me this week:

It’s never too late for Christmas chocolates, and I’m never so full I can’t fit in some more, especially when it’sย Linden Lady fudge deliciousness ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Highs and lows

  1. ~Jessica~ says:

    Congratulations on your award ๐Ÿ˜€ That dinner does sound lovely too, and the chocolates are absolutely adorable.

    I’m glad that you had a good day after the stress of rescuing that poor horse. What a bizarre turn of events!

    Hope you have a great week-end too ๐Ÿ™‚

    xxx

  2. Alexandra says:

    Wow congrats on the award!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    And I love those adorable chocolates heehee
    Enjoy your weekend!

  3. Congratulations on your award that is great news!!!

  4. Congratulations on your award!! That’s super cool! Scary story about the horse, too. I’m glad to hear you, the horse, and the owner are all okay!

  5. Leigh says:

    Congratulations!! That is such a great achievement, I hope you’ve hung it up somewhere that everyone can see it! It’s always good when a day turns from bad to good! Enjoy your weekend ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Maria says:

    Wow congratulations for that award.
    And even though not getting a story from that meeting was annoying, at least you were there to help that horse.

  7. Congrats on your award that’s wonderful! I know what you mean about council meetings, I was in one late this week and was losing the will to live. People (dare I say it especially Cllrs) love the sound of their own voice it drives me crazy. Luckily I haven’t had to go to a meeting that turned out to be pointless due to being inquorate, what a nightmare!

    • That losing-the-will-to-live feeling; I know it so well! And I might just have to agree with you there about their loving the sound of their own voices… it can be so infuriating! I’ve had a few pointless ones in my time too; it’s all good fun ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Oh my gosh! Congrats! That’s so exciting!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Errign says:

    Congratulations on your award – that’s awesome!

  10. Eleanor! Congratulations on your award! How wonderful for you! It makes you feel so good when someone praises something you’ve worked hard on. Excellent!

  11. Pingback: Happy new year! | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

