Reasons to be cheerful

A lady at work and I suddenly realised we had three good reasons to be cheerful today. 1) it’s Friday, 2) it’s payday and 3) this time two years ago, there was a foot of snow on the ground – and now there isn’t.

I know the last one’s pushing it 🙂

I could have done with some reasons to be cheerful on Wednesday, when I had to go to a meeting of the district council’s overview and scrutiny committee after work. I know you’re jealous, especially as it went on till 10.15pm. I think it’s fair to take from that that some if not all of the councillors aren’t averse to the sound of their own voices. Ahem.

All in all, I wasn’t in a spectacular mood for work yesterday. The first thing I had to do was go and join in with one of the council’s new “green gym” sessions. The idea is, people volunteer to come along and spend one morning a week clearing a much-neglected wild area, between the town and the shore.

I got there in a bit of a cold and knackered grump but got stuck in:

What they’re doing is great. People doing it get exercise (and free cups of tea) and at the same time, they’re helping conserve a Site of Special Scientific Interest; opening it back up to how it used to be, which attracts wildlife and enables more people to see it.

It also enabled people (or more specifically the photographer) to see my arse:

Which maybe isn’t such a good thing 🙂

I suddenly realised how beautiful it was, that the sun had come out, an hour and a half had passed – and I’d really enjoyed it. Not a bad place to spend part of a work day!

Other reasons to be cheerful include the fact it was almost-nearly-not-quite dark when I left work today. Ten past five and still a suggestion of light in the sky is progress, even though it is currently about -3C… we’re getting there.

And the last one is something I found today in Tesco:

Two for £2.50? That’s got to be a reason to be cheerful 🙂

What’s made you cheerful today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Reasons to be cheerful

  1. The fact that it’s Friday definitely made me cheerful today! I think green gyms are a great idea. I did some conservation volunteering a few years ago and really enjoyed it.
    Have a great weekend and keep warm!

  2. Alex G says:

    The drink I have before me…
    (Must take a break from obsessing over GF labelling, but….. Are Lindt okay with their labelling of GF? No ‘may contain’ business on the backs of those two?)
    Have a good weekend!
    A.

  3. Glad it was such a beautiful day for you! I’m sure that’s REALLY rare for you during this time of month usually!!

  4. My bosses bought pizza for lunch today, and I got to head out early to start the weekend!

  5. Haha, I know what those council meetings can be like – riveting eh? 😉 I was very cheerful for Friday yesterday!

  6. Maria says:

    I have heard of those green gyms before- they seem like a brilliant idea.
    A chai latte made me cheerful today- it is the simple things. Oh,and the sun was shining.

Thank you for commenting!

