The year that flu by

Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a great time last night and isn’t suffering for it today.

I had my almost-annual lurgy, which is always a bonus. It usually strikes just after Christmas but this year, I felt a bit rough Friday then shocking yesterday. It’s the first time I’ve stayed in on New Year’s Eve for years but it was the way forward.

So although today isn’t by far the first time I’ve woken up feeling pants on January 1, it is the first time it’s not my fault πŸ™‚

The bugger aboout feeling ill is getting bored. You want to go and do things but feel too rubbish. so as well as doing the horses this morning and evening, I played with my new toy.

I looked up cookie press recipes and saw that a few of them used cream cheese, which sounded like a plan. I used a few different ones to come up with my own.

Preheat oven to 175C

90g flour

45g butter, softened

30g cream cheese (I used Philadelphia Extra Light, as that’s all I had)

30g caster sugar

30g brown sugar

1tbsp egg white

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Cream the butter and cream cheese together till fluffy. add the sugar and mix again, add the egg white and vanilla and mix, then stir in the flour and bicarb to make a soft dough.

I then followed the instructions on my press, stuffing the dough into the barrel and firing away with the dough. I didn’t realise at first you have to hold the end of the barrel on to the baking sheet, which made a couple of interesting ones, but after that, I was a pro πŸ™‚

I couldn’t resist using four different plates either. The second row ones are dinosaurs, apparently…

They tasted nice –Β I liked the flavour from the cream cheese – but these were all about the shape.

They say feed a cold and starve a fever… and this ain’t no fever πŸ™‚

As far as New Year’s resolutions go, I usually stick with the approach of someone interviewed by my paper last week, who said he didn’t make any because he didn’t like failure… and I like his style πŸ™‚Β But I am going to make one, to get rid of this fecking lurgy….!

Did you have a good time last night? And have you made any resolutions?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The year that flu by

  1. Alexandra says:

    “They say feed a cold and starve a fever… and this ain’t no fever” hahahaa enjoy your cookies, they look delicious!!
    Happy new year and get well soon! πŸ˜€

  2. What adorable cookies! Looks like fun to me. I was sick as well this NYE, but spent the evening watching a movie with my family.

  3. happy new year! Love the cookies! so cute and yeah, very professional! get well soon xx

  4. Sorry to hear your not well, I’ve been feeling like some things been threatening to kick off, I’ve had a bit of a stuffy nose but luckily it hasn’t gone full blown. Those cookies look fantastic, so pretty!

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Oh no, get well soon!

    Those cookies are incredibly pretty – I presume the cookie cutter functions a bit like those Play-Doh factories with the different shapes I loved to play with when I was little? Either way, the end product is simply amazing πŸ™‚

    xxx

    • Thank you πŸ™‚
      I don’t remember the Play-Doh things but I think I know what you mean; you press down on the dough so it forces through the disc (with a shape cut into it) and creates the cookie; I can’t believe how good the shapes are!

  6. Those cookies are SO cute! I hope you’re feeling better!!

    Happy New Year, Eleanor!! I hope 2012 is fantastic πŸ™‚

  7. Maria says:

    Poor you get well soon. Those cookies look fab- the shapes are so clear.
    I don’t really make resolutions either- I normally have things I work towards.

  8. Gahh get well soon girl! Those cookies are rather adorable and impressive looking! Nice job πŸ™‚

  9. Happy New Year! I’m sorry that you’re feeling ill, but I’m sure that the rest of it will be much better. Those cookies look so pretty πŸ™‚

  10. Happy New Year! Sorry you have been ill. I have a minor cold at the mo but nothing more. Those cookies look lovely.

  11. I’m sorry you were ill 😦 Hopefully you’ll be all better soon!
    Your cookies look like they came out perfect!! They’re so cute πŸ™‚ Was the dough you made pretty stiff? The cookies that my mom made didn’t hold their shape quite as well as yours, and we were wondering if our dough was too soft.
    I hope 2012 is wonderful for you! πŸ˜€

    • It wasn’t stiff or soft really, not as dry as a shortbread dough but not really squashy; when you picked it up to stuff it in the barrel, it held its shape fairly well… did you use an egg? That or a vegan one would probably help hold it together?
      And thank you, happy New Year to you too πŸ™‚

  12. I hope you feel better really soon! ❀
    Those cookie look yummy! I've never put cream cheese in cookies (only in cake) but I must try it sometime! πŸ˜€
    Happy 2012!

  13. Cookies have great medicinal powers! Happy New Year, Eleanor!

  14. Kate says:

    They look great! I love eating cookies but not making them- mine never look that cute. I’m sorry to hear you’re sick- I hope you feel better soon!

  15. Hannah says:

    Oh, the flowers are so pretty! Almost worth feeling sick. Almost. Please feel utterly better soon! You deserve gloriousness πŸ™‚

  16. Errign says:

    I took my dad out to dinner New Year’s Eve, cuddled with my dog and was asleep by 10 pm – partyyyy animal.

  17. Those cookies are so gorgeous! And really unique–I never see shaped cookies like that that are homemade. Productive sickness! πŸ™‚ I love that reason against resolutions, too, haha. I think I’ll start using that one.

    • Thank you! One reason I wanted a press was that my cookies always turned out weird shapes, even with cutters but this was great!
      And that’s cool, maybe we’ll start a New Year’s Resolution Revolution… I quite like it!

Thank you for commenting!

