It’s beginning to look a lot like an unoriginal post title

Finally…

Nearly organised.

I don’t do much decorating at home but the tree’s up, the lights are in the window and the wreath (bought for me by my mum, bless her) is on the door. It’s not straight, but it’s the thought that counts πŸ™‚

I’ve made, written and posted my cards and have only got a couple of bits left to get, luckily, as I’m working every day this week. I say “working” but the Christmas and New Year papers are so tiny, there ain’t a huge amount to do – and it’s our Christmas lunch on Wednesday so I can’t see a huge amount getting done that afternoon either… πŸ™‚

I’ve had a lot of baking to do this last week too. The lady at the farm shop up the road, who’s bought a few of my cakes, put up a sign I’d made saying gluten- and dairy-free cakes to order and I got my first one! Just to be different though, it had to be free of gluten, dairy and soya – and the bloke it was for was allergic to chocolate too…!

So I made one of these hazelnut cakes, spreading raspberry jam in the middle and topping with this coconut/berry icing (Also linked on the cake post).

I haven’t heard any feedback yet… but I did get a second order, for a GF chocolate cake. Maybe I can retire from “proper” work sooner than I thought πŸ™‚

And although I managed to make far too much of the icing, believe me when I say that wasn’t a problem…

Possibly definitely a very sugary breakfast topping – but it is Christmas after all.

And talking of Christmas and an extra present for one lovely reader, the winner of the giveaway, who will be sent a Β£20 voucher for Zalando is…..

*X Factor style pause*

Nicky! (This computer doesn’t do screen grabs for some reason but I used this random number generator)

Congratulations lovely Fashionista – and you don’t even have to do anything! I’ll let Zalando know your email and they’ll send you the code to use online – hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

And last of all, with a completely un-Christmassy theme, remember my carrot experiment?

I’d been told by a bloke at the greengrocer’s stall in the market that putting a carrot top in water would grow a new carrot. With visions of self-sufficiency and bushels of carrots in mind, I gave it a go.

That was three weeks ago, this is now:

Maybe not πŸ™‚

Happy last-week-before-Christmas! Are you organised yet??

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to It’s beginning to look a lot like an unoriginal post title

  1. Leah says:

    Your Christmas tree looks so cute!
    And the cake looks delicious πŸ™‚

  2. Hannah says:

    How exciting! Actual real proper cake orders, woot! Go you πŸ™‚ Also, I’ve got no Christmas decorations anywhere, and I know I won’t get around to it this year either. Oops! Lookee all your presents though!

    • Thank you! I always struggle to think people will pay actual hard-earned cash for something I’ve baked though πŸ™‚
      And I love a big pile of presents like that too; a few are for kids which is why they’re huge, love it!

  3. Kate says:

    I just started my Christmas shopping today- I bought a bunch of stuff for my family online so I hope it comes before next Sunday πŸ™‚

  4. Haha shame about the carrot! The cake looks fab, my friend at work has a lot of intolerances and has been ordering cakes from a local cafe too, I think more people are becoming aware of food intolerances now. Oh – just re that comment on those gloves – they are pretty good, they aren’t as warm as thick ski gloves (I have some of those too) but they do a good job. I sometimes double them up with a pair of wool fingerless gloves which works excellently πŸ™‚

    • That’s definitely true, you see “free-from” food everywhere now wheras even five years ago, I think people would have thought I was mad if I offered to make GF cakes!
      And thank you very much for that, I might buy some to double up πŸ™‚

  5. Maria says:

    Yay for the cake orders- so exciting! Shame about the carrot! Once with my class we followed similar instructions on the RHS website for growing a pineapple plant- you chopped the top of the pineapple off- a little of the flesh with the green leaves, left it in a saucer of water for a few weeks then re-planted it. Well, it went very mouldy and not like the photos on the website at all!

    • It’s brilliant people are ordering them – I just hope some of them order more than once πŸ™‚
      And I wonder why your pineapple didn’t work either, in theory, it should do – gutted!

  6. Leigh says:

    I would order a cake off of you if I could! They always look delicious. I tried that carrot top thing with a spring onion top once. A new one grew but it went all mouldy and eating it was the last thing I wanted to do it! I still have quite a bit of shopping left to get, but I don’t feel that festive yet because I’m going home for Christmas on Friday and don’t have any decorations up here. Need to get my act together!

    • Thank you so much! I hope the people like it; I love making them πŸ™‚
      And interesting to hear it did work with the spring onion; even if it was mouldy, at least it grew, which is on the right track!
      I think I’d be the same if I wasn’t going to be here for Christmas, also because it’d be depressing when the decorations were still up once it’s all over!

  7. I love your tree! Soooo many presents underneath!!

    Congrats to Nicky. I forgot to enter in the end..booo! πŸ™‚ x

  8. My nan is always cutting off leaves of her plants and putting them in water and eventually roots begin to grow. Quite cool really. Shame your carrot didn’t work though.

  9. Hahhahaahah that carrot bit looks a little wonky at this juncture! πŸ˜‰

  10. Eww poor carrot–that’s a disappointment, I really wanted a never-ending carrot to be a possibility!

    And I love your adorable Christmas tree. And ingenious way to use leftover frosting. I want to frost something now so I can do the same thing πŸ˜‰

    • Yeah me too, gutted about the lack of never-ending carrot, I thought I was on to a winner!
      And it was so good on the porridge; use Christmas as an excuse to make a cake, make too much icing “by mistake” and you’re all sorted… πŸ™‚

  11. Oh dear – shame about the carrot experiment! I’m at home alone this week and maybe I should decorate to get more in the mood, but that would involve buying some decorations. I feel a bit bah-humbug this year for some reason – I haven’t even sent any cards! I’m going to make more of an effort for the rest of the week to get into the festive mood!

  12. Errign says:

    I am so behind with this whole Christmas thing. I’ve done no shopping, decorating or preparation!

  13. By the way, that was a VERY origianl post title. Just sayin’.

  14. There are no gifts under my family Christmas tree yet, haha. But the decorations are up, so that counts as organized right? Haha πŸ™‚

  15. Oh, dear…the carrot does Not look so good. However, the cake looks and sounds wonderful! Love the idea of using the icing on your oatmeal!

Thank you for commenting!

