Polar opposites

Apart from the current Polar weather applying to that title, this week’s been from one extreme to the other. From flat-out from Monday morning until this week’s paper went to press yesterday morning to sudden slow pre-Christmas week.

It’s alsoΒ the last week in the 12 Weeks of Cookies and Sweets. Thank you so much to Brenda for hosting πŸ™‚

For this week’s contribution, I wanted something Christmassy and biscotti came to mind. I found and adapted a recipe for nut “bread” from a GF book, thinking that with red cranberries and green pistachios, it would look lovely and festive.

Unofrtunately, I didn’t have any pistachios, which buggered that idea slightly. If you could just imagine a green glow to the almonds I had to use, I’d appreciate it πŸ™‚

70g plain flour (I used Doves Farm GF white blend)

75g caster sugar

2 egg whites

70g almonds, chopped

80g dried cranberries

1/2tsp grated lemon zest

Preheat oven to 180C and grease and line a 1lb loaf tin

Whisk the egg whites to soft peaks in a large bowl. Gradually add the sugar, a tablespoon at a time, while still beating the eggs. Once the sugar’s all mixed in, fold in the flour, then the zest and finally the almonds/pistachios and cranberries.

Spoon into the tin and bake forΒ 30 minutes, till gold on top.

Leave the mix in the tin to cool, then wrap in foil and chill for at least three hours (I left it overnight).

Preheat the oven to 150C. Turn the “cake” out of the loaf tin and cut into slices, about 5mm thick (not too thin or they’ll fall apart). Place on a lined sheet and bake for 15 minutes, until golden and crispy.

Even though these weren’t quite as I’d planned, they were really good. Crisp and light, with delicious flavour from the cranberries… definitely Christmassy, even without the pistachios – and those I took to work didn’t hang around long.

Sadly, that’s the last week of cookie joy, which has been a pleasure – and not just because I’ve got to eat deliciousness every week. I’d never made biscotti before, nor had I tried panforte or lebkuchen, for example. (All the 12 Weeks recipes are at the bottom of this page.)

My favourite of all though, has to be the quinoa cookies, which I’ve made, er, quite a few times since. They’re so easy and I don’t think you can go wrong with the almond butter/maple syrup combination…

I hope you’ve liked the contributions! What’s your favourite Christmas cookie or treat? And don’t forget to enter my Zalando giveaway… even if I did manage to link to the German Facebook page instead of the UK one… πŸ™‚

Edit: I don’t know why the pictures vanished at first!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Polar opposites

  1. Hannah says:

    I adore biscotti! These look wonderful πŸ™‚ Luckily, I like both almonds and pistachios. πŸ˜›

  2. Alexandra says:

    Mmm pistachios πŸ™‚ What a fabulous recipe!

  3. Maria says:

    Yes I can totally see the green almonds πŸ˜‰
    I have quite a few biscotti recipes, but I have never had one, and so never sure about making them as I am not sure what they should be like.

    • I think they’re just supposed to be quite light and plain so all the flavour and texture comes from the fruit/nuts/whatever you add in (I bet chocolate chips and maybe apricots would be lovely!)

  4. I do love biscotti but never thought to make it myself. These look lovely.

  5. Yum! These look delicious.

  6. Errign says:

    What a creative idea for cookies. I’m totally imagining them glowing green from pistachios for ya…

  7. *Imagining green glow around almonds*

    Wow, those are great looking (wink) pistachios!

  8. Yum! That looks delish! πŸ™‚
    My grandparents make that every year.

  9. I was eating pistachios by the handful yesterday, and I can imagine they would be delicious in these!!

    • Pistachios are brilliant aren’t they just a shame they’re so expensive – which is why I didn’t have any. I’ll have to be less tight and shell out (geddit?!) for some to have a go πŸ™‚

  10. Green glowing almonds? Not sure I want to imagine that in my food, haha. Almonds are way tastier than pistachios anyway, even if not as festive. I’ve tried some quinoa-flake based cookies before and they were tasty, I need to give them another go. Although it’s hard to say no to oatmeal-based cookies, those are my favorite by far…

    • Yeah maybe “glow” wasn’t quite the right word; I don’t think radioactive almonds is quite the effect I want to aim for…!
      And I haven’t tried those quinoa cookies with oats yet but that’s on my list as soon as the quinoa runs out, it’s too expensive to buy again and I bet the oats are just as good in it πŸ™‚

  11. This look so simple! I love biscotti but can sometimes be a pain to get *just right*…especially if gluten-free! Now that’s a challenge!

Thank you for commenting!

