Sable-bodied

It’s such a hard life, having to make cookies every week *sigh* but someone’s got to do it. Come on, I’m taking one for the team here ๐Ÿ™‚

This week’s contribution to 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies and Sweets comes from this one. My mum found the lebkuchen recipe in an old German book, full of enough biscuits and cookies to satisfy even me. I remember her making lots of the recipes when I was younger and seeing the pictures brought it all back.

So I knew I had to make these:

They’re called sables and they’re similar to shortbread, essentially. I say so without knowing exactly what they’re supposed to be; the book is entirely in German.

But using my very best GCSE German Google Translate, I’ve laboured to bring the recipe to you. Ahem.

85g butter

35g caster sugar

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Tiny pinch of salt

125g rice flour

Sieved icing sugar (about 40g; according to taste)

Lemon juice (enough to make a paste)

Candied peel, cut into thin wedges

Cream the butter and sugar till well mixed then add the vanilla and salt andย beat again. Stir in the flour till fully combined and bring together as a dough. Form the dough into a log about 2″ in diameter and chill for half an hour.

Preheat the oven to 200C.

Slice the log into 4mm-thick slices and place on a lined sheet. Bake in the middle of the oven for 12-14 minutes, until golden.

Mix icing sugar (about 40g) with enough lemon juice to make a paste and spread on to the cookies while they’re still warm. Cut triangles of candied peel and stick on to the icing.

Cue obligatory Christmas shot ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m sure you can see that these have relatively little sugar in them but weirdly, they’re more than sweet enough. They’re also delicious, they’ve got a brilliant light, shortbreadyย melt-in-your-mouth texture that goes perfectly with the lemon icing and candied peel.

Like I said…

It’s a tough job – but someone’s gotta do it ๐Ÿ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sable-bodied

  1. Oh my, these look so good! I really like lemony icing on top of anything.

  2. It must be so much fun making things from old cook books like that! Those look delicious!

  3. You’re a brave woman, Eleanor!! I can’t bake anymore because I can’t control myself. I need to work on being able to. It’s silly! I keep meaning to tell you that my Mother’s name was Eleanor as is my sister’s! I’m rather partial to the name! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • That’s the one problem with this 12 weeks thing; it’s meant I’ve had to eat everything I’ve made…! and I saw you referring to your sister as Ele and did wonder whether it was the same name; I agree it’s a great one, unbiasedly of course… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Kate says:

    Haha! That’s cool that you figured out the recipe even though it was in German. I have a cookbook in Italian (it was my great-grandmother’s) and I still haven’t tried to make anything from it ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Is it wrong that I always look forward to your posts for the titles as well as the content? If there was an award for blogging titles, you would win it ๐Ÿ™‚

    Such pretty cookies as well!

    xxx

  6. Hannah says:

    Yep, you’re such a trooper! ๐Ÿ˜› These look scrumptious!

  7. I’ve never heard of sable cookies, but I have heard of shortbread! ๐Ÿ™‚ They look great! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. These sable cookies sound lovely!

  9. I’ve been loving on some lemon lately, so I’m sure these are fantastic!!!

  10. You are a strong soul. Making cookies? For twelve days? And busting out Google Transalte? Wow. Just wow.

    That’s some serious dedication. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thank you for commenting!

