Run, reindeer, run

You could say there were quite a few Father Christmases around today.

This was the scene shortly before the start of the Santa Fun Run… when I was starting to worry that I might actually make a right pig’s ear of it.

The thing about doing this sort of thing in my line of work is, there’s always a photographer handy.

And whichever one it is usually tries to be funny:

I’d decided just to run-walk the whole way, mainly to try and minimise how much my legs are going to hurt – and I wasn’t looking forward to it in the slightest.

But in the end, it was brilliant. The race is held to raise money, half for the Rotary Club and half for the runners’ chosen charities (I was proud to support the Special Care Babies’ Unit at the William Harvey hospital) and the whole thing makes for a great atmosphere. People were cheering all the way (I kept hearing “there’s Rudolph!” or “have I just been overtaken by a reindeer?!”)

The course was nice too, along the upper seafront (where I had to hold my antlers on because it was so windy), down to the lower seafront, along to the next village, then back up a mammoth hill, finishing along the upper seafront again. I found myself really enjoying not only the experience but the actual running, which is something I never thought I’d say!

The last 3/4 mile-ish was a long, gradual downward slope and my competitive nature got the better of me so I speeded up, managed to pass a few people – and put on a proper sprint to the end, finishing in 28 minutes.

I know I’ll never have time to do any proper running – and to be honest, I found doing it at home quite boring – but I loved doing the race… I’m already thinking about maybe doing a Race For Life next summer. Although ask me that on Tuesday, when my leg muscles are making their feelings known, and something tells me I’ll probably have changed my mind.

Plus, I don’t think I’d get to wear my home-made reindeer tail for that, would I!? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Run, reindeer, run

  1. Alexandra says:

    You’re giving Rudolph a run for his money with that epic costume! What a great day! 😀

  2. ~Jessica~ says:

    You’re a pro for keeping your antlers on – I lost mine approximately 2K into the 10K reindeer run I was dong. The gusts of wind were brutal!

    You make a far prettier reindeer than I do though. And a 28 minute 5K with no training? You’re no slouch, that’s for sure!

    So happy that you enjoyed the run in the end 🙂

    xxx

    • It was horrible the wind – I did take mine off and hold them for the bits along the seafront; definitely not the most aerodynamic headwear! I loved it though; can see where you’re coming from about running – and I thought you made a gorgeous reindeer 🙂

  3. You look so adorable! Glad the race went well, and that’s a fantastic time for someone who didn’t train at all. A great way to kick off the holiday season 🙂

  4. That is SO adorable!!!! Hahaha I hope you had fun 🙂 You should sign up for the next race before the soreness sets in 😉

  5. Maria says:

    Love the tail- and the antlers 🙂
    And no training and 28 mins? My fastest ever 5 k was 28 mins- normally mine are somewhere under 35 mins. You are speedy!

  6. Haha well done, love your outfit !!

  7. Well done that is a brilliant time! It looks like so much fun 🙂

  8. I love your running outfit! 🙂

  9. Love the outfit 🙂 Too cute. And heck, that’s a pretty darn good time, even for a dedicated runner, so woo, go you!

  10. Sounds like a great time, Eleanor!! You look so cute with your red nose…and antlers!

  11. Bahahahhaha you’re the cutest ever!! 🙂

  12. lindsay says:

    haha, i love those runs! too fun. I hope you keep that hat forever. Perfect for any occasion,right?

  13. I totally love the costume! What a great way to get into the Christmas spirit! 🙂

  14. Hehe! I love your out fit! 🙂

  15. Errign says:

    You run a faster 5k than me! Gooo you 🙂 Love the outfit!

  16. See? You rock. 28 minutes? Not too shabby, if I do say so myself. 😉

  17. sophia says:

    Tee hee, what a cute reindeer tail! Were there any hot Father Christmases around? 😉

  18. sartenada says:

    I love your post. I got a good feeling when I read it.

    Do you know why the Finnish Santa Claus could never participate in any international meetings?

    Well, the answer is simple. He busy because he must make for good children gifts. 🙂

  19. Pingback: Lunar-tic asylum | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

