Father Christmas

Lots of Father Christmas-related things to talk about in this post, but first, these:

They’re on my guest post at Jemma’s great blog Celery and Cupcakes – thank you Jemma for letting me take over for a day 🙂

Then there’s this lovely lot:

My Secret Santa parcel arrived yesterday and it was the most thoughtful, lovely present ever.  Cat, from Knitting, Running, Eating had given me not only lovely dark chocolate and Christmas tea but also intensive Body Shop handcream (perfect, as she said, for being out riding or reporting!)

She also gave me a signed picture of Alan Curbishley – a true legend of Charlton Athletic (my football team) who was manager for 15 years and took us in that time from a nothing team to a respected and regular Premiership fixture; what a perfect present! She also, bless her, made me “with love” some gluten-free gingerbread men. They’re delicious and I’m so overwhelmed by the thought and loveliness that went into them and all these presents, thank you Cat and thank you Laura for organising!

The next thing is less good. Very much so.

When I first mentioned the Santa Fun Run, a few weeks ago, I predicted that I wouldn’t get any training done and, unfortunately, I’ve been proved almost right. I’ve had weekends and a whole week off in that time and I’ve only managed ONE run. It was 20 minutes long, it wasn’t even all running, it was on Thursday – and my legs still ache slightly from it. It ain’t looking good for the 5k, gulp, tomorrow.

But at least I’m doing it dressed as a reindeer so hey, at least I’m going to look good  different really stupid…!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Father Christmas

  1. Alexandra says:

    That santa run looks awesome! 😀 And I gotta see this reindeer costume you’re gonna wear tomorrow for the 5k, that sounds EPIC!!
    Best of luck tomorrow!

  2. I am so glad you liked your Secret Santa present!

    I am doing a Santa Dash tomorrow! 5k along the seafront in a Santa outfit 🙂

  3. So much awesome stuff! I’m loving the holiday spirit everywhere.
    Good luck tommorow, it will be fun regardless 🙂 Just don’t hurt yourself.

  4. Pingback: Secret Santa « Knitting Running Eating

  5. ~Jessica~ says:

    Such a lovely Secret Santa present 🙂

    Don’t stress about the run! As you say, it’s for fun, and even if you don’t feel like a ‘runner’ to me you look easily athletic enough to be one. Visualise yourself finishing strong, and you’ll be great!

    There’s a Reindeer 10K dash tomorrow I might do – it’s for the RNLI, which my Great Uncle supported. I’m just trying to figure out the logistics of getting myself there – it’s quite far away and I couldn’t ask my Dad to drive it so early on a Sunday.

    xxx

  6. Maria says:

    What lovely presents 🙂
    And you will rock the run tomorrow- love the idea of the reindeer costume- I trust we will see pictures ???
    🙂

  7. Kate says:

    Aw, how fun! I’ve always wanted to get dressed up for a holiday race. I did one last year but couldn’t find reindeer ears to fit my giant head, so I wore festive socks instead. Don’t worry about your training- you’ll do great! Have fun 🙂

  8. Just have fun! 🙂 I’d love if you’d join me for NaNeFoMo this December – it’s National New Food Month, you can grab the button for your sidebar from mine, and read more about participating/winning here: http://living-learning-eating.blogspot.com/2011/11/my-foodie-bucket-list-for-nanefomo.html

  9. I bet you’ll look adorable in your reindeer outfit. 😉 And if your time is what you’d like, just say the costume was weighing you down.

    I hear you abou the running thing. I had to take 5 whole days off from running because of a crazy singing schedule, but I got one in today before my concert. I was so excited to run I went WAY too fast and got really tired about 1.5 miles into it. I exhaustedly walk-jogged the last mile or so. Ugh.

    • Hah, I love that excuse, I’ll remember that one!
      And I think that would be my problem if I’d done more; getting over-confident and starting too fast… hope you’ve managed to get more in since then 🙂

  10. Errign says:

    Hope your 5k goes well 🙂

  11. I hope you have a good time at the run, Eleanor! Dressed as a reindeer….what can go wrong!

  12. Yey for Secret Santa! Hope your run when well, its looks like a proper laugh if nothing else!

  13. Hannah says:

    Good luck tomorrow! I’m sure you’ll be amazepants 🙂 Congratulate yourself with chocolate afterwards!

Thank you for commenting!

