Mmmmmmmm

Mmm, nine and a bit hours’ sleep, love it!

This post was supposed to go up last night but in the end I was late (no surprise!) for meeting my friend Roz and I didn’t have time. I did have a lovely night though, with dinner, made by her, of roasted vegetables with goats’ cheese on top – definitely one to recreate – and hours generally catching up… all good 🙂

. But these needed to be shared:

They’re this week’s 12 Weeks of Cookies and Sweets and because it’s been all about the cookies so far, I thought it was time the sweets had a turn. These came from Hannah’s genius Anzac biscuit truffles, which I made, loved and devoured a couple of weeks ago. As I was making/devouring the second (or was it third) batch, I suddenly thought a chocolate version was called for.

I wasn’t wrong.

40g cashews

30g oats

35g almonds, roasted

15g pine nuts

2tbsp cocoa powder

2tbsp and 2tsp golden syrup

Grind the oats, nuts and cocoa together till crumby and well-mixed, then add the golden syrup and blend again, till it’s clumpy and well blended. Wrap in cling film, refrigerate for a couple of hours, then roll into balls. Your hands will get covered in delicious stickiness. I’m sure you’ll cope.

You could roll these in cocoa, hundreds and thousands or ground almonds and package them up for Christmas presents.

Alternatively, of course, you could sit in a dark corner and scoff the lot, emerging with nothing but a smear of chocolate round your mouth to show for it.

Years ago, I used to make a “fridge cake”, basically a mixture of golden syrup, sugar, butter and chocolate, melted together and mixed with crushed digestive biscuits and left to set – and these remind me of nothing so much as those tooth-achingly sweet, hideously unhealthy but amazingly delicious squidgy little squares.

I know all the (blogging) world and his wife has made something like this and  the credit for these is from Hannah’s delicious creation (something tells me she’ll approve of the chocolate version though!) Mine are also not as healthy as some – as far as I know, golden syrup’s credentials as a superfood are yet to be confirmed – but they’re good. Really good.

Hope you enjoy this week’s contribution – and there’s more deliciousness here,

Thank you very much to Brenda!

And last thing, my mum, bless her, got me an Advent calendar. So just as a reminder…

Yep, that’ll be three weeks on Sunday, eek!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Mmmmmmmm

  1. laurie says:

    I LOVE chocolate! These look awesome.

  2. The truffles look Wonderful! I am so not ready for Christmas to be 3 weeks away! Yikes!!

  3. These truffles look rather decadent. Great post!

  4. Yummmmm You had me at “truffles” 😉

    Happy Friday!

  5. Pine nuts!! That’s brilliant!

  6. I love fridge cake, so anything that tastes like that is good in my books 🙂
    That sleep sounds good – I’m going to try something similar tonight.

  7. Oh, Hannah’s treats are so delicious!!! Great choice 😉 LOL, the imagery of going into a dark corner is hilarious 😛

    • They’re great aren’t they, I’m going to have to try some of her others too… and thank you, I think if there were other people around, I might have to give the dark corner a go 😉

  8. These looks SO FREAKIN’ DELICIOUS. I’m starving right now, so I would eat all of them. No lie.

    http://www.glamkittenslitterbox.com/
    Twitter: @GlamKitten88

  9. Maria says:

    MMm to those truffles 🙂

  10. They look delicious! I’ve just spent the evening making some fridge type chocolates for gifts, just melted chocolate with goji berries and coconut, some with candied ginger and some more with roasted salted nuts and raisins left to set in the fridge in silicon cupcake moulds. They look brilliant!

    • Ooh, those add-ins sound amazing – I bet coconut and goji berries are delicious with dark chocolate… I’m impressed at your will power though, I don’t think they’d last long enough round me to be given away!

  11. Mmm these look wonderful! Truffles are great, and a perfect contribution during the holidays… I have so many desserts I want to make, and these have been added to the list!

  12. Kate says:

    I can’t believe Christmas is so soon! One of the kids I babysit asked me what month it was today and I said October. Haha, I’m a few months behind 🙂

  13. Hannah says:

    Oh my golly, how brilliant!! Thank you so much for saying such lovely things about my truffles, and then for creating a new version that I’ll definitely have to try soon. Love how you rolled them in extra special pretty flavours too 🙂 xo

  14. I bet people would be thrilled to get a boxful of these during the holidays.

  15. Pingback: Football, fruit and firewalking | Eating like a horse

  16. Pingback: Lent | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

