Pancake Sunday

The last couple of days have been a bit of a blur, in more ways than one.

I got home from work and putting Inka to bed on Friday with an hour to have dinner and get myself looking half-presentable to go out which was a close one – but we had a brilliant night. Only round at the local but all good. The only problem is, I’m not the 18-year-old who could work seven days a week andΒ go out seven nights a weekΒ any more; late nights and early mornings do me in!

Yesterday was also a long one so today started as all lazy Sundays should; with pancakes.

I can’t believe, given my obsession with all things carrot cake, that it took this long for me to make carrot cake pancakes. But they were worth the wait.

50g buckwheat pancake mix (or just buckwheat/wholemeal flour and about 1/4tsp baking powder, as that’s all that’s in the mix)

40g carrot, finely grated

40g blueberries

2tbsp egg white

1tbsp milk

1/2tbsp water

1/4-1/2tsp lemon zest

1/4tsp ground mixed spice.

Mix everything together really well then cook in a preheated frying pan over a low-medium heat till golden both sides.

I had mine topped with more blueberries (bless my lovely mum for coming into my house while I was at work on Thursday and leaving a big box of them in the fridge!) and maple syrup.

They were delicious, with a great cake-y texture, and I loved the way some of the blueberries had burst while they were cooking.

I then went on the scrump to my dad’s garden. The carrots are almost all gone but those that are left are HUGE:

It’ll keep me in porridge and pancakes for a while – and talking of carrots, a bloke at the market fruit and veg stall told me the other day that if you leave enough of one attached to the top and put it in water, another carrot will grow as it’s just the root. I’d never heard that but I’ve given it a go – I’ll let you know what happensΒ  πŸ™‚

And on the other end of the size scale, I also got this:

I’m not sure whether that’s a pumpkin or a squash… but whatever it is, I roasted it whole with mincedΒ turkey and goats’ cheese inside. The bad thing was, it took three and a half weeks to cook and I still don’t know what sort of squash it was, the good thing was… it was well worth it. I hadn’t cooked meat for ages and it was a nice change, especially with the tangy cheese melted in.

Hope everyone’s had a great weekend πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Pancake Sunday

  1. Alexandra says:

    Okay, seriously, that baby pumpkin is SO DARN CUTE and that giant carrot is amazing!!! πŸ˜€ I’ve never seen one so big!

  2. Your pancakes look delicious and you’re right, that’s quite a carrot!

  3. Hannah says:

    Aw so cute! The pumpkin and the pancakes πŸ™‚ Also, I couldn’t work and go out seven days even when I *was* 18 πŸ˜›

  4. Kate says:

    Awww, that little pumpkin is so cute! Never heard the trick about the carrot- I may have to try that!

  5. Those berries look fantastic on the pancakes!

  6. sartenada says:

    Lovely photos from delicious foods. I love blueberries and pancakes!

    What stroked to me was the name Inka. In Finland it is in use in the Northern part. My daughter is called Inca. When I was young, I travelled very much in South America in Peru. So, combining Finnish name Inka to Peruvian Indians Incas, it was clear that my daughter’s name must be Inca. She has also own street “Camino de Inca” = Inca’s road in Santiago de Chile.

    Happy blogging!

  7. Maria says:

    That pumpkin is so cute! πŸ™‚
    I will be very excited to see what happens with your carrot experiment too.

  8. Seeing that giant carrot has got me all excited for my allotment! Looking forward to seeing what happens to the carrot in the glass!

  9. sue says:

    Yummo, and I have to try these out! We did the carrot thing in grade school, so neat. But we always fed the greens to the horses, so we never had any left.

  10. Carrot cake pancakes? Genius. I just pinterested your recipe πŸ˜€ Thanks.

    That carrot is huuuugeee!! x

  11. Yay for pancake sunday! πŸ™‚
    I love how you added carrot to your pancakes, great idea!

  12. Oh my gosh, I HAVE to hear the results of that growing a carrot from a carrot experiment, I may or may not be way too excited to learn if it works…

    And I am wiped out by late nights these days, too–It really wasn’t that long ago that I could go out at least three nights a week. Now I avoid having to do one, haha πŸ˜€

  13. I’m excited to see the results of your carrot experiment!! πŸ™‚

  14. Woah momma that is certainly a humongous carrot! Can’t wait for the experiment! And yummy pancakes too πŸ™‚

  15. That is one huge carrot!
    I’m with you on the stay out late vs early morning thing. I get really tired and I suffer with terrible hangovers. The thought of the next morning mostly makes me be sensible, but every now and then I forget about the misery I’m inflicting on my future self!

  16. Errign says:

    That baby pumpkin dish sounds amazing, besides the cooking time πŸ™‚

  17. Carrot cake pancakes sound so tasty!

  18. I’ve got two good newses (I didn’t spell that right, did I? No.) for you! You won my giveaway and I nominated you for a Leibster Award! Come check it out!

  19. Wow that really is a HUGE carrot! These pancakes sound and look so tasty!

  20. That carrot is HUMONGOUS! It’s funny you mention your love for carrots because I was actually thinking of growing them in my home garden next year. πŸ˜€ And pancakes always taste yummy with fruits πŸ˜‰

    • They’re so much better home-grown; go for it! You just have to make sure to thin them out when they start growing so you can get decent-sized ones… and don’t do what I did and try to replant the thinned ones… does NOT work πŸ™‚

  21. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a lot like an unoriginal post title | Eating like a horse

  22. Pingback: I’m beet | Eating like a horse

  23. Pingback: Third time lucky | Eating like a horse

  24. Pingback: Cor blimey Gov’nor | Eating like a horse

  25. Pingback: Shrove Tuesday | Eating like a horse

  26. Pingback: Friday | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

