Updates

Thank you for the sympathy on my last post! It’s actually not too bad because it’s not on the joint so it hasn’t stopped me doing anything. But as I liked the sympathy, here’s looking for some more:

Ouch 🙂

Also related to my last post was the first job I did at work on Monday, writing to some pictures from a charity event where they’d all dressed as Disney characters – and guess who popped up a few times?! Good old Buzz, he gets about, clearly.

The next update is on the budget challenge, as I got paid last week:

I’m always ridiculously careful with money but keeping to the rules I set myself worked (except buying chocolate raisins but after all, they’re an essential rather than a luxury!) The pain is, I had loads of extra things to pay for last month so I was no better off by payday – but at least I know I’d have been worse off otherwise.

I’ve started thinking about Christmas shopping too; I got a bonus on a couple of presents. If you’re registered with a Nectar card, go on to the website. As well as having bonus offers on there, there are deals like double points on Amazon and Debenhams and triple on some others, plus you can spend Nectar points on Amazon vouchers; double result.

I signed up to Wowcher too. It’s brilliant because you get an email at least once a day with offers on it. The manufacturers promise to give a certain product or holiday or whatever at a silly price if enough people sign up so you just add your name and hopefully (more often than not) get a real bargain. You can register here for that; great for presents or just everyday stuff – and I’ve just joined Groupon UK, which seems the same.

I’ve made some budget-friendly meals, including this:

Stupidly, I forgot to write down exactly what I used but it was a can of haricot beans, some grated courgette left over from cake-making, sunflower seeds, quinoa flakes and some herbs and spices, baked into a delicious, cheap and healthy loaf.

And then there was these:

I cook just for myself and then eat what I’ve made so I never have leftovers. But if you’re cooking for a family, the old-school English dish bubble and squeak (you’ve got to love the name too) is perfect. I don’t do savoury breakfasts but if I did, this would be great for Boxing Day morning with all the Christmas vegetables and roast potatoes, plus it’s amazingly easy to do.

200g potato, cooked and mashed

125g (ish) vegtables, cooked and chopped (I used broccoli and leek but anything would do)

1 small red onion, diced

1/4-1/2tsp garlic powder (or one clove of garlic)

1tbsp flour (I used Doves Farm brown blend)

Seasonings to taste.

Saute the onion over a low-medium heat till soft but not browned.Mash the chopped cooked veg and herbs/other seasonings into the mashed potato till well combined then add the onion and mix well. Add the flour and mix again.

Form patties and saute over a medium heat till browned and crisp both sides (at least five minutes on each side)

I made three huge ones but I think I’ll do more small ones next time, for a bigger crisp-to-soft ratio 🙂

I had mine with a random and also old-school fish finger, found lurking in the freezer, home made coleslaw and vegetables. And of course, having said what I did above, I managed to cook too many vegetables. Unheard-of.

It was delicious, as were some other lovelies I’ve got to tease you with before I take myself to bed:

Having come so close with my nearly-lebkuchen last week, I managed the real McCoy on Sunday – I’ll post the recipe on Thursday 🙂

Have a great week and thanks to Laura for the budget challenge!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Updates

  1. I’m the same – I usually just cook what I need for myself and I hardly ever have leftovers. I’m not sure that I’ve ever eaten bubble and squeek, but that recipe sounds yummy.
    That Buzz Lightyear gets everywhere 😉

  2. Maria says:

    I have so many emails from Groupon now- but I cant complain because that is where I got my cupcake decorating class from 🙂

  3. Maria says:

    PS Ow ow ow that looks so painful. Hope it is still getting better.

  4. Leigh says:

    Eeeek your poor knee, I’m glad it’s not stopped you from doing anything. I love groupon/living social etc, they have some gems every now and then!

  5. Thanks for the update! That bruise looks so sore! Hope your ok. That loaf sounds delicious, I need to make some of my veggie loaf up ready for Christmas day turkey replacement 😉

  6. The potato pancakes look amazing!! Your poor knee…take care of yourself. 😦

  7. Your lone fish stick is cracking me up!! 😉

  8. Oh noooo, your poor knee! I just read your last post- ouch 😦 I hope that it feels better than it looks- it looks really painful! Hope you feel better soon!

  9. I’m glad your knee is feeling okay! Thank you for the budget inspiration. 😉 Heaven knows I could use some frugality.

  10. Aw! Hope your leg heals quickly! 🙂 ❤

  11. Pingback: Lent | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

