Not quite – but nearly

Er, anyone care to enlighten me as to what this weather’s about?? Brass monkeys on Tuesday, no jacket needed today… not that I’m complaining in the slightest but I just get the worried feeling that when winter comes, it’s going to come properly. and that’s not good 😦

But at least I got to enjoy this beautiful November/May weather, because I’m off today and tomorrow, using up holiday by the end of the year, so I spent all morning riding Inka and generally faffing about up at the yard.

I also had time to make this week’s contribution to:

12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies and Sweets – thanks to Brenda – scary to think this is week eight!

I’ve been wanting to make lebkuchen, those soft German gingerbread hearts, since I saw them in Asda  a couple of weeks ago, so I was looking for a recipe but couldn’t find a decent-looking one. In the end, I came up with something that I thought would do. I wanted to try to recreate the soft chewiness of lebkuchen so I used a blend of GF flour and used the honey cookies as a guide for proportions of ingredients…

55g rice flour

55g blend of tapioca and potato flour (about half of each)

55g butter, at room temperature

55g brown sugar (I used a mix of light and dark brown)

1 egg yolk, beaten

1/2 tbsp treacle

1/2 tbsp honey

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 1/4 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp ground mixed spice

Pinch salt

Cream the butter and sugar together till light and fluffy. Beat in the honey and treacle, then add the egg yolk very gradually.

Sieve the flours, baking powder and spices together and add half of this to the butter mixture. Use a wooden spoon to bring it to a soft paste, then add the rest of the flour and mix well. Bring together in a ball and chill for an hour.

Preheat oven to 180C and form the dough into balls on a lined baking sheet. Flatten slightly and bake in the middle of the oven for 10-11 minutes, till  just browning round the outside.

So had I made lebkuchen? In a word, no 🙂

They weren’t as soft as I’d hoped – I think decreasing the cooking time might work – but they were still good. If you want a recipe for soft, chewy gingerbread hearts, I’m working on it… but if you just want to make biscuity, gingery, spicy, randomly-shaped cookies, this recipe is the way to go.

Not quite – but nearly. I’m going to try the lebkuchen again – but I’m sure I’ll manage to force these down in the mean time… 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Not quite – but nearly

  1. Hannah says:

    Any kind of spiced cookie is amazing in my books! 🙂

  2. What is it with the weather, anyway? It’s, like, cold. Go figure!

    I’ll take a dozen of those cookies, please. Thank you.

  3. Maria says:

    I have been hunting a recipe for them for ages- all the ones in the shops now contain pork gelatine, so I cannot have them anyway. But I love them and would love to make my own.

  4. I think any kind of ginger cookie is a winner in my book, I bet they taste delicious 🙂

  5. sue says:

    Oh I don’t think I have ever had these before.

  6. I love those cookies – I always end up buying loads of them when I go to Christmas markets. I can’t wait until it’s Christmas market time!
    I’m trying to make the most of the mild weather – it’s perfect for running and I’m not looking forward to freezing temperatures and icy pavements.

  7. I wouldn’t say no to a random spring day! Those cookies sound good, biscuit-like and spice-y? I’m in.

  8. I love any kind of cookie 😀 x

  9. Errign says:

    Yummy cookies 🙂 I made rice flour pancakes THREE times this week…in one day. Oh geez!

  10. I hadn’t even heard of lebkuchen before this post! They look tasty!

  11. I love ginger/spice cookies! YUM!

  12. Well, I’ll eat any time of cookie, so these look good to me 🙂 Enjoy the warm weather where you are! It’s supposed to rain here this weekend, so I’m hoping it clears up before Thanksgiving.

  13. I have never even hear of lebkuchen before! I am rather intrigued now though…
    These look tasty to me, as I like pretty much any kind of cookie 🙂

  14. The honey cookies look yummy and pretty easy. I shold give them a try!

  15. Pingback: The Real McCoy | Eating like a horse

Thank you for commenting!

